Libraries

Native American Studies

America: History and Life
1954-present; article abstracts and citations of reviews and dissertations on the history and culture of the United States and Canada.

Anthropology Plus
Early 19th century-present; as a compilation of the Royal Anthropological Institutes Anthropological Index and Harvard University's Anthropological Literature database, Anthropology Plus is a comprehensive index covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research. This database provides extensive indexing of journal articles, reports, and commentaries.
This product combines the Royal Anthropological Institute’s Anthropological Index and Harvard University's Anthropological Literature databases
Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI)
1970-present; information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. Citations to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in over 400 key scholarly social science and humanities journals published worldwide.

MLA International Bibliography
Indexes critical materials on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Includes citations from periodicals, books, essay collections, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies.
NOTE: The link here is preset to a genre search for "Native American Writers." Search within this group for thematic or critical terms.

JSTOR
Use the "Advanced Search" and select the "American Indian" set of journals to search within these journal titles: American Indian Law Review, American Indian Quarterly, International Journal of American Linguistics, Journal of California and Great Basin Anthropology, Studies in American Indian Literatures, Wicazo Sa Review.

Ethnic NewsWatch
Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) full text database of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, BiPOC and Native press beginning in 1960.
For historical content, date filter for years "1959-1989".

Chronicling America: Newspapers of Indigenous Peoples of North America
Searchable digitized copy of newspapers produced by native peoples of North America between 1829 and 1921 (13 titles currently available). Part of the Chronicling America newspaper project at the Library of Congress.

Indigenous Newspapers in North America (AMExplorer)
Print journalism from the indigenous peoples of the United States and Canada. Includes national periodicals as well as local community news and student publications. The 45 unique titles also include bi-lingual and Indigenous-language editions, such as Hawaiian, Cherokee, and Navajo languages. Date range: 1828-2016
Original physical materials are held by the Sequoyah National Research Center at the University of Arkansas, Little Rock, and the Newberry Library in Chicago.

Democracy Now!
Radio program/podcast which regularly features interviews with Indigenous activists and experts. Search for topics or individuals in upper righthand corner.