Skip to main content

Today's hours:

See all library hours »

Musical Score call numbers

Musical score call numbers (DIckinson Classification system)

Created by George Sherman Dickinson, the Dickinson Classification system is a DECIMAL system.  This is different than the Library of Congress System, which is used for book materials at Vassar and utilizes cardinal numbers.

*All oversized musical scores are shelved on the ground floor of the Music Library near the stairwell.*

Overview

The Dickinson classification is a decimal system which uses digits 0 to 9 to represent different genres of music:

0   Miscellaneous: Collections, facsimiles, monuments, collected works, methods

1   Keyboard instruments (solo and ensemble)

2   Bowed string instruments (alone, or with piano or continuo accompaniment)

3   Wind instruments (alone, or with piano or continuo accompaniment)

4   Plectral, percussion, and electric instruments

5   Chamber ensemble

6   Orchestral ensemble (including band, concertos)

7   Voice solo and solo ensemble (including folk songs)

8   Choral and solo-choral ensemble  

9   Dramatic ensembles (operas, musicals, motion picture music, ballet, incidental music)

 

0 Miscellaneous: Collections, facsimiles, monuments, collected works, methods

    00    miscellaneous collections, instrumental and vocal, several composers

    001    miscellaneous collections, instrumental, several composers

    007    miscellaneous collections, vocal or choral, several composers

    01     monuments, historical sets

    015    miscellaneous historical collections representing an overview of music history

    04    facsimiles

    05    collected works of one composer

    053    notebooks or sketchbooks and studies of one composer

    06    partial collections, several classes, one composer

    063    works for unspecified instruments

    07    methods, tutors, etc.

        0711-0746    instrumental

        0758     jazz

        077    vocal solo

        078    choral

 

1 Keyboard instruments (solo and ensemble)

1   Keyboard instruments (solo and ensemble)

    1    miscellaneous keyboard collections

    11     piano, harpsichord, clavichord, virginal, etc. (not organ)

    117    piano technics

    12       piano ensemble

    15       organ and harmonium

    16       organ ensemble

    17       mixed keyboard ensemble

2 Bowed string instruments (alone, or with piano or continuo accompaniment)

2   Bowed string instruments (alone, or with piano or continuo accompaniment)

    21     violin and piano

    210       violin alone

    21019    violin and continuo        =01    continuo arr. for keyboard

    217       violin technics

    22         viola and piano

    220       viola alone

    22019    viola and continuo        =01    continuo arr. for keyboard

    227       Viola technics

    23    cello and piano

    230    cello alone    

    23019    cello and continuo        =01    continuo arr. for keyboard

    237    cello technics

    24    double bass and piano

    240    double bass alone

    24019    double bass and continuo    =01    continuo arr. for keyboard

    247    double bass technics

3 Wind instruments (alone, or with piano or continuo accompaniment)

3   Wind instruments (alone, or with piano or continuo accompaniment)

    31    flute (piccolo, recorder) and piano

    310     flute (piccolo, recorder) alone

    31019    flute (piccolo, recorder) and continuo        =01    continuo arr. for keyboard

    317    flute technics, including orchestra studies

    32    oboe (English horn) and piano

    320    oboe (English horn) alone

    32019    oboe (English horn) and continuo        =01    continuo arr. for keyboard

    327    oboe (English horn) technics, including orchestra studies

    33    clarinet and piano

    330    clarinet alone

    337    clarinet technics, including orchestra studies

    34    bassoon and piano

    340    bassoon alone

    34019    bassoon and continuo                =01    continuo arr. for keyboard

    347    bassoon technics, including orchestra studies

    35    horn and piano

    350    horn alone

    357     horn technics, including orchestra studies

    36    trumpet and piano

    37    trombone and piano

    382    tuba and piano

    3820    tuba alone

    384    saxophone and piano

    3840    saxophone alone

 

4 Plectral, percussion, and electric instruments

4   Plectral, percussion, and electric instruments

    41    harp alone

    412    harp ensemble

    417    harp technics

    43     guitar

    44    mandolin

    45    other plectral instruments, including lute

    46    percussion instruments

    463    chimes, bells, glockenspiel

    47    mechanical instruments (music boxes, musical clocks, etc.)

    48    special instruments including electric and electronic

    49    electronic music; musique concrete

5 Chamber ensemble

5   Chamber ensemble

51    keyboard, bowed string, wind, percussion (any combination of 4 families including keyboard, or all 5 families)

52    bowed string

52019    bowed string with continuo

521    bowed string ensembles with keyboard

53    wind

53019    wind with continuo

531    wind with keyboard

54    plectral string with percussion

541    plectral string with keyboard

542    plectral string with bowed string

543    plectral string with wind

5431    plectral string with wind and keyboard

546    percussion ensemble

55     bowed string with wind

551    bowed string, wind, keyboard

554    bowed string, wind, plectral

5546    bowed string, wind, percussion

56    bowed string, wind, plectral string, percussion

57    chamber ensembles with vocal parts

58    unspecified instrumentation

59    chamber music for instruments of the 18th century and earlier

6 Orchestral ensemble (including band, concertos)

    61    full orchestra

    62    string orchestra

    63    band or wind orchestra

    65    chamber orchestra

    661    piano with orchestra        =01   accompaniment arranged for piano

    6615    organ with orchestra        =01         "        "        "

    662    violin with orchestra        =01         "        "        "

    6622    viola with orchestra        =01         "        "        "

    6623    cello with orchestra        =01         "        "        "

    6631    flute with orchestra        =01         "        "        "

    6632     oboe with orchestra        =01         "        "        "

    6633    clarinet with orchestra        =01         "        "        "

    6634    bassoon with orchestra    =01         "        "        "

    6635    horn with orchestra         =01         "        "        "

    6636    trumpet with orchestra    =01         "        "        "

    6637    trombone with orchestra    =01         "        "        "

    66382    tuba with orchestra        =01         "        "        "

6 (CONTINUED)

66384 saxophone with orchestra =01         " " "
664 harp with orchestra =01         " " "
6643 guitar with orchestra =01         " " "
6646 percussion with orchestra =01         " " "
665 concerti grossi
666 double, triple, etc. concerti with dissimilar soloists
67 special orchestral ensembles
68 combinations with incidental chorus, with or without vocal soli

7 Voice solo and solo ensemble (including folk songs)

7   Voice solo and solo ensemble (including folk songs)

    71    secular vocal solo, accompanied by piano or other solo instrument

    710    secular vocal solo, unaccompanied

    71019    secular vocal solo with continuo

    7105    secular vocal solo with chamber ensemble    =01    accompaniment arr. for piano

    7106    secular vocal solo with orchestra        =01    accompaniment arr. for piano

    715    secular solo cantatas

    717    technics, solfeggi, vocalises, sight-singing materials

    72    secular vocal ensemble, accompaniment for solo instrument

    720    secular vocal ensemble, unaccompanied

    7205    secular vocal ensemble with chamber ensemble

    7206    secular vocal ensemble with orchestra

    725    secular cantatas, solo vocal ensemble

    73    college and school songs

    74    folk and national music and patriotic music    (subdivided geographically)

    75    sacred vocal solo with single instrument accompaniment

    7505    sacred vocal solo with chamber ensemble

    7506    sacred vocal solo with orchestra

    76    sacred vocal ensemble with single instrument accompaniment

    7605    sacred vocal ensemble with chamber ensemble

    7606    sacred vocal ensemble with orchestra

    78    vocal solo or solo ensemble, arranged by poet

    79    secular monodic song (early Greek, songs of minstrelry, etc.)

8 Choral and solo-choral ensemble

8   Choral and solo-choral ensemble

    81    secular choral works, more than one movement

    810    secular choral works, more than one movement, unaccompanied

    814    secular choral works for chorus, soli, and narrator

    82    single secular choruses and collections

    820    single secular choruses and collections, unaccompanied

    827    choral technics

    85    sacred choral works, more than one movement

    850    sacred choral works, more than one movement, unaccompanied

    86    single sacred choruses and collections

    860    single sacred choruses and collections, unaccompanied

    87    liturgical choral works (requiems, masses, communion services)

    870    liturgical choral works, unaccompanied

    88     congregational songs (hymns, chorales, etc.) subdivided by religions

    882    carols, all seasons

    89    plainchant, subdivided by religions

9 Dramatic ensembles (operas, musicals, motion picture music, ballet, incidental music)

9   Dramatic ensembles (operas, musicals, motion picture music, ballet, incidental music)

    91    operas and musicals

    91=01    operas and musicals, vocal scores

    92    scenes, cantatas designed for stage presentation

    935    music for motion pictures and for television

    95    ballets

    97    incidental music to dramas, masques, pageants, pantomimes, etc.

    978    pasticcios, ballad operas

    99    forerunners of opera and ballet (to 1800)

    996    madrigal opera; dramatic or comedy madrigals