Global Feminisms
WMST 251
Research Resources
Spring 1998
Abstracts and Indexes
- Expanded
Academic Index
[Infotrac] 1980-current.
It covers 1500 academic journals and offers
full-text for some articles.
- Social Sciences Index. 1974-current. Ref. Index Table 3.
Also available via FirstSearch online
from 1983-current.
Indexes scholarly journals and respected newsstand
periodicals.
- Social Science Citation Index. 1970-current. Ref. Index Table 3
Indexes scholarly journals and traces footnotes back to sources. Useful
for cutting edge topics and following up reactions to publications.
- UnCover. 1979-current.
Internet electronic social science, art and science journals with title
page access as well as keyword in title searching. Offers Fax service
by credit card payment.
- PAIS (
Public Affairs Indexing
Service). 1972-current via FirstSearch
online and 1915-92 in paper.
Use the thesaurus on the table for subject headings.
Indexes western language scholarly economics, political and social science
journals and books and government in NGO documents.
- TRANSDEX and JPRS Reports 1970-1996. Index and Microfiche in
North Court 146.
- This has a very political focus but because it
includes health issues, it is useful for AIDS, prostitution and similar topics
that affect women. The collection consists of translations from foreign
magazines and newspapers. The full text is in the government documents
microfiche.
Feminist Issues and Theory
- Contemporary
Women's Issues 1995-current.
Covers journals, newsletters and reports. It has a strong
international component.
- Women's Studies Abstracts. 1972-current. Ref. Index Table 3
The oldest scholarly womens' studies index. Lists book
and media reviews. Has both abstracts and listings.
- Women's Studies Index. 1989-current.Ref. Index table 3
Started
off indexing publications like Women's Day. Now includes the scholarly
journals but is 2 to 3 years behind current subscriptions.
- Studies on Women Abstracts. 1982-current. Ref. Index table 3
Indexes scholarly books and journals with non-evaluative abstracts for
every entry.
Law and Legal Issues
- Index to
Legal Periodicals.
FirstSearch 1981-current and
1926-current on Ref. Index Table 6
- International Political Science Abstracts. 1953-current.
Ref. JA 36 I5
Scholarly articles on feminist legal theory and women's
role
in international conflicts and domestic upheavals.
- LEXIS-NEXIS
Universe
Covers news and legal information and
is generally full-text. It is strongly U.S. oriented but includes wire
services, some foreign English newspapers, TV & radio news transcripts and
most U.S. court decisions.
Periodical Lists
Area Studies
Public Opinion
- Index to International Public Opinion Ref. HM 261 I552.
See the sections on Marriage and Family, Social Issues and Problems
and the subject index.
Statistics
- Statistical Record of Women Worldwide. 1991. Ref. HQ 1150 S73
1991
Every source is cited so you can update the tables with more current
publications.You may also use the American Statistical Index and the
International Index of Statistics.
Newspapers
Microtext Room
- London Times: Index and microfilm. 1790-current.
Microtext
Room
There is a cd-rom index to the early portion of the Times.
- New York Times 1994-current through FirstSearch online
Select the News area from the First Search list. Abstracts are
included.
Major stories are indexed in Expanded Academic Index while everything from
1851 to date is indexed in the paper index Microtext AI 21 N44.
The NYT microfilm is also in the Microtext Room.
Government and Intergovernmental Documents
U.S. Government documents pertain to American women primarily. Use the
GPO index in
First
Search. The CIS indexes to congressional committee publications
are on
Ref. Index Table 14. See our subject pages under the "Politics and
Government" or the "Law" subdivisions of the
Web
Resources link from the VCL Homepage/ References and Research
Resources.
UN and other international organizations' documents may focus on
women. UN documents we own are listed in the online catalog. There are
Internet sites for the UN and many other International organizations.
Some sites and publications are listed in the next section.
Bibliographies and Online Resources
Bibliographies are at the back of all scholarly treatises. Book length
bibliographies can be found by adding the word "bibliography" to a subject
term. Books we own are in our
Online
Catalog.
Books currently in print are listed in Books in Print in
First
Search. 30 million books in libraries are listed in the World
Cat, also one of the First Search indexes.
Women and Work in Developing Countries: an Annotated
Bibliography by Parvin Ghorayshi. 1994. HD6223 .W655 1994
Canadian Ministry of Women's
Equality
Fourth World Conference
on Women, Beijing, 1995
United Nations
Conference on Population and Development, Cairo, 1994
United Nations Development Fund for
WomenWith special attention to its female genital mutilation
eradication program in Mali and issues in Asia.
Virtual Sisterhood
Women of the World, Formal
Laws and Policies Affecting Their Reproductive Lives
Women's
Environment and Development Organization
Women's Issues
Around the World
Prepared by S. Maul, 1/27/98 Please send corrections, additions and
comments to maul@vassar.edu