Search the catalog

Related Items

Quick Links

Using Google Scholar Through Vassar Library

Google Scholar searches for "peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations."

Scholar is not limited to any specific academic discipline, but searches are generally more successful for science topics than for social sciences and humanities. The Library recommends that Google Scholar not be used as a replacement for the subscription databases provided through our web page under the Indexes and Databases list.

Access Resources Available to Vassar Users

To access VC subscription resources in Google Scholar from off-campus, users must use Proxied Mode.

Advanced Scholar Search | Google Scholar Help

Journal Articles

Some material in Google Scholar is freely available on the Web and some is contained in subscription databases.

When you search, you will see a "Full-Text @ Vassar" link displayed after the article title when the Library has electronic access to the journal. This link will take you to ArticleLinker where you can link to full-text.

Please note:

  • In some cases we may not have a particular issue of a journal that Google Scholar indicates we have.

  • Results may include some journals that ask for payment. The Library may have these articles electronically or in print. Not all our full-text journals are linked through Google Scholar. Check Vassar's Online Catalog to see if the Library owns these items! Don't pay for articles the Library owns.

Books

Book citations in Google Scholar are indicated by [Book] preceding the title in the search results. To determine whether Vassar Library has the book, click on the link "Library Search" at the end of the citation. On the right side of the next screen under "My Library," click on "Search the Catalog at Vassar College Libraries." Some books are part of the Google Books Project. Depending on their publication date, they may be available full-text through Google Book Search. Click on the book title to connect to Google Books.

Please talk to a librarian at the Reference Desk if you have questions about accessing articles, books and other material you find on Google Scholar.

Announcements

Summer Programs Information

Information for SIG, ET, URSI, and other summer programs.

Van Ingen Renovation

The Van Ingen Art Library and Visual Resources Library are undergoing renovations.

Library Employment

Collection Development Librarian position

Serials Review

Journal Review Project.

Library Cafe

Features interviews with scholars, librarians, publishers.

Catalog

Search library catalog:

Advanced Search | Course Reserves | Go to Catalog

Databases

Find databases by subject:

Full Alphabetical List
0 1 2 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P R S T U V W Z

Find databases by title:

By Type | Trials | Off Campus Access

Journals

Find print journals in the catalog:

Find e-journals by title or ISSN:

Go to the E-journal Finder

Vassar Home | Media Cloisters | Learning & Teaching Center
Vassar College Libraries, Box 20, 124 Raymond Ave., Poughkeepsie, NY, 12604-0020
845.437.5760 | librarysitemgr@vassar.edu