Search the catalog

Dictionaries

The subject heading is:
[Name of language]—Dictionaries
Examples:    English language--Dictionaries; Spanish language--Dictionaries 

Bilingual Dictionaries

For dictionaries that translate definitions from one language to another, the subject is:
[Name of the first language]—Dictionaries—[Name of second language]
Example:    French Language--Dictionaries--Spanish language

Thesauri

The subject heading for thesauri is:
[Name of first language]—Synonyms and Antonyms
Examples:    English language--Synonyms and antonyms; French language--Synonyms and antonyms

Locations for Dictionaries and Thesauri

Using the above subject headings will give you call numbers for items both in the reference room and in the stacks.  Even though some dictionaries are in the stacks, they are on “Stack Reserve” and do not circulate.

Online Dictionaries

Credo Reference: Dictionaries -- English language and bilingual dictionaries, English language thesauri. 

Frequently Used Dictionaries

Anglo-Saxon Dictionary Ref. PE 279 B52 1972
Middle English Dictionary Ref. PE 679 M54
Johnson's Dictionary Ref. PE 1620 J6 1785 (2 vol.)
Oxford English  Dictionary (OED) Ref. Dictionary Case 1

General Call Numbers for English and Foreign Language Dictionaries and Thesauri

Arabic PJ 6640 Irish PB 1291
Chinese PL 1455 Italian PC 1640
Czech PG 464 Japanese PL 679
Danish PD 2640 Korean PL 937
Dutch PF 640 Latin PA 2365
English PE 1625 Polish
PG 6640
Slang (English) PE 3721 Portuguese PC 5333
American Slang PE 2841 Russian
PG 264
French PC 2640 Scottish
PE 2106
German PF 3640 Spanish
PC 4640
Greek PA 445 Swedish
PD 137
Hebrew PJ 4833 Thesauri (English
PE 1591
Hindi and Urdu PK 1986 Turkish PL 137
Hungarian PH 2640 Vietnamese PL 437
    Yiddish PJ 5117

Announcements

The Main Library is staying open later

Starting 10/4 the Library will be open until 1:30 am, Sunday-Thursday

Poetry of the Hudson

On display in the Main Library exhibit cases, September - December

Adopt-a-Book

Archives and Special Collections Library's new program to fund conservation treatment for fragile and damaged items.

New Database Trials

Databases Vassar Library is considering for subscription.

Catalog

Go to Advanced Search

Databases

Find databases by discipline:

Full Alphabetical List
1 2 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P R S T U V W Z

Find databases by title:

View All | Trials | Off Campus Access

Journals

or

Find journals in the catalog:

Vassar Home | Media Cloisters | Learning & Teaching Center
Vassar College Libraries, Box 20, 124 Raymond Ave., Poughkeepsie, NY, 12604-0020
845.437.5760 | librarysitemgr@vassar.edu