Search the catalog

Related Items

Quick Links

ICPSR and Vassar College

What is the ICPSR?

The Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) is a consortium of over 500 colleges and universities around the world that maintains and provides access to archives of social science data. In addition to preserving the data, ICPSR provides training and support to users in identifying and using data relevant to their research projects. ICPSR sponsors summer courses and workshops on such topics as "Quantitative Research on Race and Ethnicity," "Longitudinal Analysis of Historical Demographic Data," "Project on Human Development in Chicago Neighborhoods," and much more. For more information about ICPSR and their programs, see the ICPSR Web Site.

The data are in the form of data files which can be used with statistical software such as SAS and SPSS. These software applications are available at Vassar through Citrix.

What Kinds of Data are Available from ICPSR

ICPSR acquires data in core social science disciplines such as political science, sociology, and demography, and in topical archives on themes such as Aging and Health, Child Care and Education, and Criminology and Criminal Justice. Collections come from individual institutions and foundations and government agencies, among other sources. The ICPSR Thesaurus lets you identify subjects, personal names, and geographic names to use when you search the database.

How Do I Access ICPSR Data?

Simply login to ICPSR Direct. You can search the ICPSR website for datasets or contact ICPSR directly if you need assistance. There is a tutorial available on the ICPSR website to help you get started and a "Need Help" page. For more information, contact Kathy Kurosman, kakurosman@vassar.edu, or Meg Stewart, mestewart@vassar.edu.

Who Uses ICPSR at Vassar?

Any member of the Vassar community may use the ICPSR data. It is currently being used by faculty in the Political Science Department.

Is There a Charge for Downloading ICPSR Data?

There is no charge for downloading data from ICPSR.

Announcements

Summer Programs Information

Information for SIG, ET, URSI, and other summer programs.

Van Ingen Renovation

The Van Ingen Art Library and Visual Resources Library are undergoing renovations.

Library Employment

Collection Development Librarian position

Serials Review

Journal Review Project.

Library Cafe

Features interviews with scholars, librarians, publishers.

Catalog

Search library catalog:

Advanced Search | Course Reserves | Go to Catalog

Databases

Find databases by subject:

Full Alphabetical List
0 1 2 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P R S T U V W Z

Find databases by title:

By Type | Trials | Off Campus Access

Journals

Find print journals in the catalog:

Find e-journals by title or ISSN:

Go to the E-journal Finder

Vassar Home | Media Cloisters | Learning & Teaching Center
Vassar College Libraries, Box 20, 124 Raymond Ave., Poughkeepsie, NY, 12604-0020
845.437.5760 | librarysitemgr@vassar.edu