Search the catalog

Access to the Collections

The Microtext Room is located on the ground floor in the Ingram wing of the library. The collection includes microfilm, microfiche and microcards. Microfilms are filed by microfilm number and then chronologically within that number. Microfiche are arranged alphabetically by title in separate cabinets.

Guides and indexes to individual film and fiche collections are shelved along the walls in the Microtext Room. The guides describe some of the film and fiche collections and how to use them. Two online guides are:

You can find microfilm collection in the online catalog by searching for a title or subject.

Highlights of the Collection

In addition to newspapers and periodicals in microform, some other important primary source microform collections are:

  • Early American Imprints (the Evans Collection)
  • Early English Books: 1475-1640 - (Pollard and Redgrave, STC I) (Microfilm 934)
  • Early English Books, 1641-1700 - (Wing, STC II)(Microfilm 963)
  • Early Files of the U.S. Congressional Serial Set
  • FBI files on Martin Luther King, Jr.
  • L.B.J. Security Files on the Vietnam War
  • Papers of the NAACP
  • Papers of the U.S. Commission on Wartime Relocation and Internment of Civilians (MF# 817)
    Reports from the FBI and other internal government documents for research on wartime incarceration of Japanese-Americans.
  • Manuscript Collections from the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture (MF#580)
    Consists of books, prints and manuscripts documenting the black experience in Africa, the western hemisphere and the world.
  • Records of the Southern Christian Leadership Conference
  • Schomburg Clipping File
    Clippings from newspapers, broadsides, playbills, pamphlets, and other types of ephemera covering such subjects as writers, artists, musicians, politicians , neighborhood activities......the whole rich spectrum of black culture. It does not include the Manuscript Collection. Arranged alphabetically in the fiche collection under "Schomburg".

Making Copies of Microform Documents

Reader/printers for use in copying film or fiche are available in the Microtext Room. Printouts from the film or fiche are $.l0 a page. These machines use dimes only. You can also save documents in digital form. If you need help, ask at the Reference Desk.

Copies of microcards can be ordered from University of Missouri-Columbia. This microform service will copy microcard/ microprint/micro-opaque materials for a fee. For more information, please contact Gretchen Lieb.

Announcements

Spring Break Hours

Spring Break operating schedule, Friday, March 5 - Sunday, March 21

Three Databases Unavailable March 13-14

LexisNexis, ScienceDeirect, and Scopus will be unavailable during the overnight period on March 13-14

Main Library Exhibit

"Mark Twain & Huckleberry Finn" can be viewed in the Main Library exhibit cases through May 2010.

New E-Resources

New databases and other e-resources recently added to our collection

Catalog

Go to Advanced Search

Databases

Find databases by discipline:

Full Alphabetical List
1 2 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P R S T U V W Z

Find databases by title:

View All | Trials | Off Campus Access

Journals

or

Find journals in the catalog:

Vassar Home | Media Cloisters | Learning & Teaching Center
Vassar College Libraries, Box 20, 124 Raymond Ave., Poughkeepsie, NY, 12604-0020
845.437.5760 | librarysitemgr@vassar.edu