Home / Research Help / Research Guides / How Do I Find... / Finding the News
Finding the News
Current News Sources
Print Newspapers and News Digests
Vassar subscribes to a number of newspapers and news digests, both U.S. and foreign, in print and microtext. Print newspapers are shelved in the Periodical Room on the second floor of the Thompson Library. Some newspapers are retained in microfilm. The print copy is discarded when the microfilm is received. For a list of these newspapers, see Newspapers in Microform in VCL. Newspapers are listed by title in the online catalog.
- Africa Research Bulletin (Ref. DT1.A2875) and Africa Research Bulletin Online Index
Summaries and extensive reports on political and economic developments in all African countries since 1964. (June 2001 is latest in library) Index to current issues also online. Fact and comment from local press, radio and on-line sources.
- Bell & Howell Transdex and JPRS Reports (Microtext Room) 1978-1996.
Microfiche index to translations issued by the United States Joint Publications Research Service (JPRS). Translations in government documents microfiche cabinets in PrEx. Index in blue boxes on top of cabinets.
- Current Digest of the Post-Soviet Press (AP 50.C97) 1992-current, and Current Digest of the Soviet Press (AP 50.C97) 1949-1992.
Indexed with abstracts in EAI, Proquest, Article1st (indexing only)
- New York Times
Available both in print and online. Current print issues are kept in the Newspaper Alcove and the Periodical Room. Back issues are on Microfilm 9 in the Microtext Room, along with the print index. Online indexing only is available through Expanded Academic Index (latest 6 months) Fulltext is available in LexisNexis Academic Universe and Proquest: New York Times. 1986-current; New York Times Historical File. 1851-1999. For more about finding the New York Times, see Searching the New York Times.
- World Press Review (AP2.A833)
Indexed with full-text in EAI and WilsonSelect from 1993/94 to Oct. 2000. Indexing and abstracts in Proquest, Article1st (indexing only) Ceased in May 2004. Continued by World Press Review Online.
Online Newspapers and Other Media
- BBC News World Edition
Includes BBC World Service.
- Custom Newspapers (Gale)
Covers over 100 national and international newspapers.
- EuroNews
European Broadcasting Union initiative started by a group of European public broadcasters interested in providing European viewers with a diverse set of perspectives of regional and international news. Includes recent news briefs about a number of important topics of relevance, such as political affairs within the European Union, cultural activities, and technological innovations within various parts of the EU.
- Europe Daily
European slant on the news from the WorldNews Network. Includes sections on business news and politics. Links to related regional sites and sectors as well as other news sites (BBC News-Europe, etc.)
- LexisNexis Academic Universe
Use Sources to find a title (top black bar). The "Search this title" option leads to whichever segment offers the most comprehensive coverage of the title. Or go to “Guided News Search”. Choose “World News”. Select region.
- Los Angeles Times: Indexing from 1986-current. Full-text starts with Dec. 4, 1996.
- MENIC (Middle East Network Information Center)
Links to online newspapers and other media from the Middle East region.
- MEMRI (Middle East Media Research Institute)
Translations of Arabic, Farsi, and Hebrew media, as well as original analysis of political, ideological, intellectual, social, cultural, and religious trends in the Middle East.
- Newslink
Not translations but links to both foreign language news and English news sources in other countries.
- Newspaper Links
Gateway to U.S. dailies, Canadian and other international newspapers.
- Poughkeepsie Journal (Current Week) and Poughkeepsie Journal (Backfile: 1999-)
- U.S. Department of State Foreign Media Reaction
“Each business day, the U.S. Department of State's Office of Research produces an Issue Focus of foreign media commentary on a major foreign policy issue or related event. These reports provide a global round-up of editorials and op-ed commentary from major newspapers, magazines and broadcast media around the world.”
- Western European Newspapers and News Services (WESS/ACRL)
- World Press Review Online
- Worldwide List of Online Newspapers
Country-by-Country listing of online newspapers throughout the globe.
- Yahoo
Yahoo has directory links to news from different countries: http://dir.yahoo.com/News_and_Media/. Yahoo also has a special World News Section that shows AP, Reuters, and other newswire feeds and links to television and radio news programs under Entertainment.
Alternative and Ethnic Press
- AltPressIndex:Indexing of over 250 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. 1991-present.
- Alt-PressWatch: Newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press. 1994-current.
- Ethnic Newswatch Full-text newspapers of the ethnic & minority press. 1990-current.
Business News
Other Sources for Historical Newspapers
- 19th Century Masterfile
Access to several merged 19th century indexes to periodicals, newspapers, books and government publications.
- For a listing of historical newspapers in microfilm, see "Selected 18th and 19th Century American Newspapers."