Current paper issues are received daily. All recent paper issues are kept in the Newspaper Alcove of the Current Periodical Room on the first floor.
New York Times is on Microfilm 9 in the Microtext Room cabinets. Reader/printers are available in the Microtext Room as well as "read only" Microfilm Readers.
Full-text of the New York Times is available through ProQuest (late edition, East Coast) and LexisNexis Academic Universe (1980-current) The New York Times Historical Files (1851-1999) are available through Proquest.
A "majority" of today's issue of the New York Times (National edition) may also be accessed at: http://www.nytimes.com. Click on any link on the opening graphic and you will see a login where you may register yourself. Back issues of some sections (CyberTimes, Arts and Leisure, Travel and Politics) are archived. The Sunday Magazine is not available at all at this time. The "Books" icon on the opening screen leads to the full-text of the New York Times Book Review (January 1997-current). Additionally, an archive of book-related articles from the NYTBR and the NYT, extending back to 1980, is also available.
The Expanded Academic Index (EAI)provides indexing only to the New York Times for the last 6 months. Both the National and Late editions are cited. Coverage for the Book Review and Magazine sections extends back to 1993. Abstracts are only included for the Magazine. EAI is updated daily, with the exception of weekends, but inclusion of articles from the Magazine lags by about a month.
An annual index to the New York Times covers 1851 to the present. The index is published monthly, then quarterly, and finally annually. The indexes are in the Microtext Room.
Citations are to the section of the paper, then the page and column. (S), (M) and (L) refer to the length of the article, short, medium or long. Sometimes the regional version of the newspaper is indicated, in which case you must be sure the microfilm copy you refer to is the same regional version.
Using the specialized indexes listed below may save you time.
The Personal Name Index, Microtext Room Z 5301 F28, is an index to the NY Times index volumes. The first set of 22 volumes covers 1851 through 1974. The second set picks up with 1975 and goes through 1993.
An index to articles on the environment, entitled Environment, 1967-1975, covers only this period, but may prove useful. Its call number is HC 68 N55x.
The New York Times Film Reviews in Ref PN 1995 N4 not only index the film reviews, but also contain the full text of the reviews---a great time saver. Coverage is from 1913-1944, but this is an ongoing project.
The New York Times Obituaries Index, Microtext Room, CT 213 N47 and N53 1980, indexes obituaries from 1858 through 1978. The first volume, 1858-1968 is a straight name index. Volume 2, 1969-1978, includes reprints of the obituaries of 50 famous persons and 2 pages of additions and corrections to volume 1.
The New York Times Theater Reviews (Ref. PN 2000 N78) covers reviews from 1870 through 1919. There is a gap in the sequence here, when the next volume covers 1993-1994. However, the other part of the index, entitled New York Times Directory of the Theater (Ref. PN 2000 N77) covers 1920-1970. The library has ordered back volumes to fill the gap between 1971-1992. Both sets are indexed by personal name and title. Thumbnail sketches of the NYTimes critics are included as well as lists of awards for the Nobel Prize for Literature (if it included Drama), the Pulitzer Prize, the New York Drama Critics Circle Awards, the Antoinette Perry (Tony) Awards and the Off-Broadway Obie Awards with the accompanying NYTimes news stories.
Information for SIG, ET, URSI, and other summer programs.
The Van Ingen Art Library and Visual Resources Library are undergoing renovations.
Collection Development Librarian position
Journal Review Project.
Features interviews with scholars, librarians, publishers.
Find databases by subject:
Full Alphabetical List
0
1
2
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
R
S
T
U
V
W
Z
Find databases by title:
Find print journals in the catalog:
Find e-journals by title or ISSN:
Access account preferences:
Vassar Home | Media Cloisters | Learning & Teaching Center
Vassar College Libraries, Box 20, 124 Raymond Ave., Poughkeepsie, NY, 12604-0020
845.437.5760 | librarysitemgr@vassar.edu