Search the catalog

Related Items

Quick Links

Guide to Basic Sources of United States Law

U.S. Law is based on the Constitution. Congress passes legislation which becomes statutory law. The executive branch makes rules and regulations to comply with the statutory law, which becomes administrative law. The judiciary settles disputes by interpreting the law, which becomes case law. The Constitution and the statutory, administrative and case law together make up the body of United States law.

Table of Contents

  1. Constitution
    1. Text and Analysis
    2. Document Collections
    3. Bibliography
  2. Statutory Law
    1. How Our Laws are Made (THOMAS)
    2. Tracing Legislative History
    3. Congressional Sources on Proposed Legislation
    4. Federal Statutes
    5. Indexes to Federal Statutes
  3. Administrative Law
  4. How to Interpret a Legal Citation
  5. Case Law--Court Reports, Briefs and Arguments
    1. Supreme Court
    2. Lower Federal Courts
    3. Subject Access to Cases
    4. Case Finding Aids and Bibliographies
  6. Selected Reference Sources in Law
    1. Guides and Encyclopedias
    2. Dictionaries
    3. Biography
    4. Periodical Indexes
    5. Historical Resources

Announcements

Recent Acquisitions

New books, videos, and music recently added to the library collection

Van Ingen Renovation

The Van Ingen Art Library and Visual Resources Library are undergoing renovations.

Library Employment

Collection Development Librarian position

Serials Review

Journal Review Project.

Catalog

Search library catalog:

Advanced Search | Course Reserves | Go to Catalog

Databases

Find databases by subject:

Full Alphabetical List
0 1 2 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P R S T U V W Z

Find databases by title:

By Type | Trials | Off Campus Access

Journals

Find print journals in the catalog:

Find e-journals by title or ISSN:

Go to the E-journal Finder

Vassar Home | Media Cloisters | Learning & Teaching Center
Vassar College Libraries, Box 20, 124 Raymond Ave., Poughkeepsie, NY, 12604-0020
845.437.5760 | librarysitemgr@vassar.edu