Search the catalog

SIG 2008: Information About the Library

Scheduling the Library Classroom (For SIG Faculty)

Library Hours and Reference Desk Coverage

  • During SIG, the library is open the following hours:
    • Mon. and Weds. 8:30 a.m. -9:30 p.m.
    • Tues., Thurs., and Friday 8:30 a.m. -5 p.m.
  • There will be a librarian at the Reference Desk from 1:00 p.m.-5:00 p.m. every day.

Printing in the Library

SIG counselors will be given VPrint cards for their students' use. Printers are located to the left of the Reference Room. There is a Help Desk near the printers for help with printing problems. A staff person will be at the Help Desk on Monday and Wednesday evenings during SIG.  Additional VPrint cards may be purchased from the machine near the Help Desk.

Several of the VPrint printers can also be used as copiers.  Instructions  for making copies are at the machines.  Use either your ID or VPrint card to make copies. 

Research Resources (For SIG Students)

Finding Background, Facts and Definitions || Finding Magazine and Newspaper Articles || Finding Books|| SIG Classes

Finding Background, Facts and Definitions

Use these online databases to find background articles, facts, definitions, and images. Check with a reference librarian for other sources in the Reference Room.


Finding Magazine and Newspaper Articles (And More!)

General Databases

The following databases are multidisciplinary (cover a lot of different subjects) They contain full-text of magazine and newspaper articles as well as other types of information.

EBSCOHost
This group of databases includes the following:

  • MasterFile Select
    Popular and scholarly magazine articles.
  • Primary Search
    Children's magazines and pamphlets.

Junior Edition
Periodical database for students in junior high and middle school, with magazines, newspapers and reference books (most are full-text) for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.

LEXIS-NEXIS Academic Universe
Newspaper articles and legal research.

ProQuest
Multidisciplinary index to articles in scholarly and popular periodicals. Includes some newspapers, Historical New York Times and Wall Street Journal.

TopicSearch
Magazine and newspaper articles, biographies, book reviews, opinion polls, and current events. For junior and high school students.

Subject Databases

Databases List
Links to alphabetical and subject lists of the Library's many online databases. Some of the databases provide references to articles and books only, not the articles and books themselves. Vassar may or may not own items listed in the databases.


Finding Books

Use the Online Catalog to find books in the Vassar Library.


Announcements

New Database Trials

Databases Vassar Library is considering for subscription.

Researching U.S. Elections

Guide to finding election statistics, poll results, candidates bios

Where Are The Art Books?

The Art Library and Visual Resources Library are undergoing renovations.

Serials Review

Journal Review Project.

Catalog

Search library catalog:

Advanced Search | Course Reserves | Go to Catalog

Databases

Find databases by subject:

Full Alphabetical List
0 1 2 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P R S T U V W Z

Find databases by title:

By Type | Trials | Off Campus Access

Journals

Find journals in the catalog:

Go to Journals A-Z

Vassar Home | Media Cloisters | Learning & Teaching Center
Vassar College Libraries, Box 20, 124 Raymond Ave., Poughkeepsie, NY, 12604-0020
845.437.5760 | librarysitemgr@vassar.edu