Vassar College Libraries

Vassar College

Main Library Hours

Today 8:30 am - 5:00 pm See All »

Databases by Department

Our new databases page is now live!

Please note: This page will be available only until May 31, 2017.

History 


For more information visit Research Help

Find Articles

Find Articles and more

TitleCoverage
17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers
17th-18th centuries
19th Century British Library Newspapers
1732-1950
19th Century British Pamphlets
19th Century U.K. Periodicals
19th century
ABSEES (American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies)
1990-current
African American Periodicals, 1825-1995
1825-1995
African Journals Online
Dates vary. Most from 1999-current.
African Newspapers (CRL's World Newspaper Archive)
African-American Newspapers, 1827-1998
1827-1998
Afro-American (Baltimore, Md.)
1893-1988
Albert Einstein Digital Collection at Vassar College Libraries
Alternative Medicine and Health Periodicals, 1810-1877
1810-1877
Aluka - African Cultural Heritage Sites and Landscapes
Aluka - Struggles for Freedom in Southern Africa
America's Historical Newspapers
1690-1922
America: History and Life
1964-current
American Civil War: Letters and Diaries
1855-1875
American National Biography
American Periodicals Series
1741-1920s
American Presidency Project
American State Papers
1789-1838
Ancestry Library Edition
Late 18th century to present
Archives of Human Sexuality and Identity: LGBTQ history and culture since 1940
1940-present
Arts & Humanities Citation Index
1984-current
Atlanta Constitution Historical File
1868-1984
Atlanta Daily World
1931-2003
Bibliography of Asian Studies
1971-current
Black Studies Center
Black Thought and Culture: African Americans to 1975
Earliest times to 1975
British Humanities Index
1962-current
British Periodicals
Late 17th-early 20th cent.
C19 The Nineteenth Century Index
Caribbean History & Culture: 1535-1920
1535-1920
Carlyle Letters Online: a Victorian Cultural Reference
Chicago Defender
1910-1975
Chicago Tribune Historical File
1849-1987
China from Empire to Republic: Missionary, Sinology and Literary Periodicals, 1817-1949
1817-1949
Chronicling America
Colección Revolución, 1910-1921
1910-1921
Confidential Print: Middle East, 1839-1969
1839-1969
Congressional Record Permanent Digital Collection
1789-current
Congressional Universe (see ProQuest Congressional)
Cuartel General del Sur, 1910-1925
1910-1925
Daily Mail Historical Archive, 1896-2004
1896-2004
DDRS (Declassified Documents Reference System)
1940s-1970s
Digital National Security Archive
Early American Imprints/Evans 1639-1800
1639-1800
Early American Imprints/Shaw-Shoemaker 1801-1819
1801-1819
Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures, and the Environment
dates vary
Early English Books Online
1475-1700
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
1701-1800
Eighteenth Century Journals: a Portal to Newspapers and Periodicals, c1685-1815
1685-1815
Electronic Enlightenment
Early 17th to the mid 19th century
English Short Title Catalogue
To 1801
Enhanced Parliamentary Papers on Ireland, 1801-1922
1801-1922
Ethnic NewsWatch/Ethnic NewsWatch: A History
1960-current
Evans Digital Edition
1639-1800
Fannie Lou Hamer: Papers of a Civil Rights Activitist, Political Activist, and Woman
1966-1978
FBIS Daily Reports
1941-1996
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
1996-current
Feminism in Cuba, 1898-1958
1898-1958
Foreign Relations between Latin America and the Caribbean States, 1930-1944
1930-1944
Foreign Relations Between the U.S. and Latin America and the Caribbean States, 1930-1944
1930-1944
Gallica
Middle Ages-20th Century
Gerritsen Collection: Women's History Online, 1542-1945
1543-1945
GPO Monthly Catalog
1976-current
Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS)
1936-current
HarpWeek
1857-1912
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980
1808-1980
Historical Abstracts
1955-current
Historical Census Browser
1790-1960
Historical Statistics of the United States
1790-Present
History Cooperative
History E-Book Project
House of Commons Parliamentary Papers (19th & 20th Centuries)
1800-1900
Hudson River Valley Heritage
Varies
Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003
1842-2003
Images of Early Vassar
1861-early 20th cent.
Independent Voices
1950-present
Index Islamicus
1906-current
IndexCat: the Surgeon General's Index
1880-1961
India During the Raj - Index to Microfilm 1044
1819-1859
International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP) and the The Marshall Index
International Medieval Bibliography
International Women's Periodicals, 1786-1933: Social and Political Issues
1786-1933
International Women’s Movement: The Pan Pacific Southeast Asia Women’s Association of the USA, 1950-1985
1938-2006
ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
400-1700
Japanese-American Relocation Camp Newspapers: Perspectives on Day-to-Day Life
1942-1945
JSTOR
Dates vary
Latin American Newspapers (CRL's World Newspaper Archive)
1805-1922
Literature, Culture and Society in Depression Era America: Archives of the Federal Writers’ Project
1933-1943
Los Angeles Sentinel
1934-2005
Los Angeles Times Historical File
1881-1987
Making of America (Cornell)
1840-1900
Making of America (Michigan)
Antebellum period through reconstruction
Nation Archive
1865-
New York Amsterdam News
Niles Register: Cumulative Index, 1811-1849
1811-1849
Nineteenth Century
1801-1900
Nineteenth Century British Library Newspapers
1800-1900
North American Women's Letters and Diaries
Colonial-1950
Official Document System of the United Nations - see United Nations, Official Document System
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
Oxford English Dictionary (OED)
Palmer's Index to the Times (London) - see Times Digital Archive
Parker Library on the Web
Perdita Manuscripts
16th-17th centuries
Periodicals Archive Online
1802-1995
Periodicals Index Online
1665-1995
Phyllis Lyon and Del Martin: Beyond the Daughters of Bilitis
1966-1984
Phyllis Lyon, Del Martin and the Daughters of Bilitis
1955-1984
Pinckney-Horry Papers
1739-1830
Project Muse
Dates vary
ProQuest History Vault
Queen Victoria's Journals
1832-1837
Quest for Labor Equality in Household Work: National Domestic Workers Union, 1965-1979
1965-1979
Revolution in Honduras and American Business: The Quintessential “Banana Republic”
1910-1930
Revolution in Mexico, the 1917 Constitution, and Its Aftermath: Records of the U.S. State Department
1910-1924
Sabin Americana, 1500-1926
1500-1926
Serial Set of U.S. Congress
15th-90th Congresses, 2nd session, 1817-1967, Serial Set Vols. 1-12792
Siku Quanshu
Slavery and Anti-Slavery: a Transnational Archive, Part I
17th century - 20th century
Social Science Citation Index
1984-current
South Asian Newspapers (CRL's World Newspaper Archive)
South China Morning Post
1903-1997
Sunday Times Digital Archive
1785-2006
Times Digital Archive
1785-2006
Times of India Historical File
1838-2002
Times-Picayune
1837-1988
U.S. Congressional Serial Set
15th-90th Congresses, 2nd session, 1817-1967, Serial Set Vols. 1-12792
U.S. Declassified Documents Online
Vassar College Digital Newspaper Archives
1872-present
Vassar College Student Diaries
Vassar College Student Letters
Vassar Encyclopedia
Victorian Database Online
1945-current
Vogue Archive
1892-present
Washington Post Historical File
1877-1994
Women & Gender Studies: Archives Unbound
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
1600-2000
Women Organizing Transnationally: The Committee of Correspondence, 1952-1969
1952-1969
Women, War and Society, 1914-1918
1914-1918
Women’s Issues and Their Advocacy Within the White House, 1974-1977
1974-1977