Vassar College Libraries

Vassar College

Main Library Hours

Today 8:30 am - 5:00 pm See All »

Databases by Title

Our new databases page is now live!

Please note: This page will be available only until May 31, 2017.

Alphabetical List

1
17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers
18th-Century Fiction
19th Century British Library Newspapers
19th Century British Pamphlets
19th Century U.K. Periodicals
19th-Century Fiction
2
20th Century African-American Poetry
20th Century American Poetry
20th Century English Poetry
A
ABELL (Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature)
ABI/Inform Complete
About the Vassar Music Library catalogs
ABSEES (American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies)
Academic Complete (ebrary)
Academic OneFile
AccessUN
ACLS Humanities E-Book
ACM Digital Library
African American Periodicals, 1825-1995
African Journals Online
African Newspapers (CRL's World Newspaper Archive)
African-American Newspapers, 1827-1998
African-American Poetry
Afro-American (Baltimore, Md.)
Agricola (NAL Catalog)
Albert Einstein Digital Collection at Vassar College Libraries
Alt-Press Watch
Alternative Medicine and Health Periodicals, 1810-1877
Alternative Press Index and Archive
Aluka - African Cultural Heritage Sites and Landscapes
Aluka - Struggles for Freedom in Southern Africa
America's Historical Newspapers
America: History and Life
American Chemical Society (ACS) Publications
American Civil War: Letters and Diaries
American Drama
American FactFinder
American Film Scripts Online
American Institute of Physics
American National Biography
American Periodicals Series
American Poetry
American Presidency Project
American State Papers
Ancestry Library Edition
Annee Philologique
Annual Review of Anthropology
Anthropology Plus
AnthroSource
Arabic Dictionary (Oxford Dictionaries)
Archives of Human Sexuality and Identity: LGBTQ history and culture since 1940
Art Abstracts
Art Index Retrospective
ARTBibliographies Modern
Artemis Primary Sources (trial is open ended)
ARTFL
ArticleFirst
Arts & Humanities Citation Index
ARTstor
Astrophysics Data System (ADS)
ATLA Religion Index
Atlanta Constitution Historical File
Atlanta Daily World
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
B
Barron's
Berkshire Encyclopedia of China
BHA and RILA
Bible in English
Bibliographie des Musikschrifttums online
Bibliography of American Literature
Bibliography of Asian Studies
BioOne.1
Birds of North America
Black Drama
Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Organizational Records and Personal Papers, Parts 1 and 2 (ProQuest History Vault)
Black Studies Center
Black Thought and Culture: African Americans to 1975
Book Review Index Online
Boston Symphony Orchestra Programs
BREPOLiS Latin Complete
Britannica Online Academic Edition
British Humanities Index
British Periodicals
Business Insights: Essentials (formerly Business and Company Resource Center)
C
C19 The Nineteenth Century Index
Cambridge Journals Online (Cambridge Core)
Canadian Poetry
Caribbean History & Culture: 1535-1920
Caribbean Literature
Caribbean Newspapers
Carlyle Letters Online: a Victorian Cultural Reference
Charleston Advisor
Chicago Defender
Chicago Manual of Style Online: Citation Quick Guide
Chicago Manual of Style Online: Table of Contents
Chicago Tribune Historical File
Children's Literature Review Online
China from Empire to Republic: Missionary, Sinology and Literary Periodicals, 1817-1949
China: Political Reports, 1911-1960
Chinese Dictionary (Oxford Dictionaries)
Chinese Newspapers Collection
Choice Reviews Online
Chronicling America
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)
Clase/Periodica
Classical Music Library
Cleveland Call and Post
Colección Revolución, 1910-1921
College Women
Columbia Granger's World of Poetry
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Complete dictionary of scientific biography
Confidential Print: Middle East, 1839-1969
Congressional Record
Congressional Record Permanent Digital Collection
Congressional Universe (see ProQuest Congressional)
Contemporary World Music
CQ Almanac + Archive
CQ Magazine (formerly CQ Weekly Report)
Credo Reference
Cuartel General del Sur, 1910-1925
Custom Newspapers (InfoTrac Newsstand)
D
Daily Mail Historical Archive, 1896-2004
Database of Recorded American Music (DRAM)
DDRS (Declassified Documents Reference System)
Der Spiegel 1947-2015
Dictionary of Canadian Biography
Dictionary of Literary Biography (Vol. 1-372)
Dictionary of Old English A-G Online
Dictionary of Old English Old English Corpus
Digital Dictionary of Buddhism/CJKV-English Dictionary
Digital National Security Archive
Digitized musical scores available on the Internet
Directory of Open Access Journals
Dissertations & Theses Full Text
Duke University Press Journals Online
E
E-Musicquest: The Music-In-Print Series online.
E-print Network
Early American Fiction 1789-1875
Early American Imprints/Evans 1639-1800
Early American Imprints/Shaw-Shoemaker 1801-1819
Early American Secular Music and Its European Sources, 1589–1839: An Index by Robert M. Keller, Raoul F. Camus, Kate Van Winkle Keller, and Susan Cifaldi
Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures, and the Environment
Early English Books Online
Early English Prose Fiction
ebrary Academic Complete
EBSCOhost
EconLit
Economist Historical Archive 1843-2012
Editions & Adaptations of Shakespeare
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
Eighteenth Century Journals: a Portal to Newspapers and Periodicals, c1685-1815
Eighteenth Century Poetry (Oxford Scholarly Editions)
Eighteenth Century Prose (Oxford Scholarly Editions)
Eighteenth-Century Fiction
Electronic Enlightenment
Emiliano Zapata, 1901-1919
Encyclopaedia Judaica
Encyclopaedia of Islam, Three
Encyclopedia of English Renaissance Literature
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
Encyclopedia of Literary and Cultural Theory
Encyclopedia of Literature
Encyclopedia of Popular Music (Oxford Music Online)
Encyclopedia of Romantic Literature
Encyclopedia of the Gothic
Encyclopedia of the Novel
Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century Fiction
Encyclopedia of World Biography
English Dictionary (Oxford Dictionaries)
English Drama
English Poetry
English Short Title Catalogue
Enhanced Parliamentary Papers on Ireland, 1801-1922
Environment Complete
ERIC
Ethnic NewsWatch/Ethnic NewsWatch: A History
Ethnographic Video Online
Ethnographic Video Online
Ethnologue
Evans Digital Edition
Expanded Academic ASAP Index
F
Faber Poetry Library
Faculty Scholarship Database
Fannie Lou Hamer: Papers of a Civil Rights Activitist, Political Activist, and Woman
FBIS Daily Reports
FDsys
Federal Register
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
Feminism in Cuba, 1898-1958
FIAF International Film Archive
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text
Film Literature Index
Financial Times Historical Archive, 1888-2010
FirstSearch
Foreign Relations between Latin America and the Caribbean States, 1930-1944
Foreign Relations Between the U.S. and Latin America and the Caribbean States, 1930-1944
France in America/La France en Amerique
French Dictionary (Oxford Dictionaries)
G
Gale NewsVault
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Gallica
Gannett Newsstand
Gender Inn
GenderWatch
GeoRef
GeoScienceWorld
German Dictionary (Oxford Dictionaries)
Gerritsen Collection: Women's History Online, 1542-1945
Global Plants (JSTOR)
Gnomon Bibliographische Datenbank
Google Scholar
GPO Access (archive only as of Mar. 2011)
GPO Monthly Catalog
GreenFILE
Grove Art Online (Oxford Art Online)
Grove Music Online (Oxford Music Online)
H
Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS)
HarpWeek
Hawai'i Pacific Journal Index
Health Reference Center Academic
Highwire Press
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980
Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI)
Historical Abstracts
Historical Census Browser
Historical Statistics of the United States
History Cooperative
History E-Book Project
History of Science, Technology & Medicine (trial runs through February 8, 2017)
House of Commons Parliamentary Papers (19th & 20th Centuries)
Hudson River Valley Heritage
Humanities E-Book
I
ICPSR
Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003
Images of Early Vassar
IMF eLibrary Complete
IMF eLibrary Data
Independent Voices
Index Islamicus
Index of Articles on Jewish Studies
Index of Christian Art
IndexCat: the Surgeon General's Index
India During the Raj - Index to Microfilm 1044
IngentaConnect
International Bibliography of Art
International Critical Tables of Numerical Data, Physics, Chemistry and Technology
International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP) and the The Marshall Index
International Index to Music Periodicals Full-Text (NEW TITLE: Music Periodicals Database)
International Medieval Bibliography
International Political Science Abstracts
International Women's Periodicals, 1786-1933: Social and Political Issues
International Women’s Movement: The Pan Pacific Southeast Asia Women’s Association of the USA, 1950-1985
IOPscience
IPA Source
Italian Dictionary (Oxford Dictionaries)
ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
Izvestiia Digital Archive
J
Japan Times Digital Archive
Japanese-American Relocation Camp Newspapers: Perspectives on Day-to-Day Life
Jerusalem Post Historical File
John Johnson Collection
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism
JSTOR
K
Kanopy Streaming
King James Bible
Kluwer Journals Online
Knovel Critical Tables
Kritisches Lexikon zur deutschsprachigen Gegenwartsliteratur (KLG)
L
Latin American Newspapers (CRL's World Newspaper Archive)
Latin American Open Archives Portal
LexisNexis Academic
LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
Literature Online (LION)
Literature, Arts, and Medicine Database
Literature, Culture and Society in Depression Era America: Archives of the Federal Writers’ Project
LLMC Digital (Law Library Microform Consortium Digital)
Loeb Classical Library
Los Angeles Sentinel
Los Angeles Times
Los Angeles Times Historical File
Luna Insight
M
Making of America (Cornell)
Making of America (Michigan)
MathSciNet
MEDLINE
MedlinePlus
Met Opera on Demand
MetaLib GPO
Middle English Dictionary
MLA International Bibliography
Monthly Catalog of U.S. Government Publications, 1895-1976
Music Periodicals Database (formerly International Index to Music Periodicals)
Music Programs Digital Collection
Music Treasures Consortium
Music-in-Print
N
Nation Archive
National Geographic Magazine Archive
National Newspaper Index (Infotrac)
National Newspapers Premier (ProQuest)
National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections
Naxos Music Library
Naxos Music Library World
NBER (National Bureau of Economic Research) Working Papers
NCJRS (National Criminal Justice Reference Service) Abstracts Database
New Pauly Online: Encyclopaedia of the Ancient World
New York Amsterdam News
New York Heritage Digital Collections
New York Philharmonic Digital Archives
New York Review of Books
New York State Newspapers
New York Times (NYTimes.com)
New York Times (ProQuest)
New York Times Historical File (ProQuest)
News, Policy & Politics Magazine Archive
Nicaragua: Political Instability and U.S. Intervention, 1910-1933
Niles Register: Cumulative Index, 1811-1849
Nineteenth Century
Nineteenth Century British Library Newspapers
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO)
Nineteenth-Century Fiction
Norfolk Journal and Guide
North American Indian Drama
North American Women's Letters and Diaries
NUMDAM
O
OAIster
Observer: News for the American Soldier in Vietnam, 1962-1973
OECD iLibrary
Official Document System of the United Nations - see United Nations, Official Document System
Oxford Art Online (includes Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms)
Oxford Classical Dictionary
Oxford Dictionaries
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome
Oxford English Dictionary (OED)
OXFORD MUSIC ONLINE (includes Encyclopedia of Popular Music, Grove Music Online, Oxford Dictionary of Music, and Oxford Companion to Music)
Oxford Scholarly Editions Online
P
PAIS
Palmer's Index to the Times (London) - see Times Digital Archive
PapersFirst
Parker Library on the Web
Patrologia Latina
Perdita Manuscripts
Periodical Abstracts Research II - see Research Library
Periodicals Archive Online
Periodicals Index Online
Perseus Digital Library
Philadelphia Tribune
Philosopher's Index
PhilPapers.org
Phyllis Lyon and Del Martin: Beyond the Daughters of Bilitis
Phyllis Lyon, Del Martin and the Daughters of Bilitis
PILOTS Database
Pinckney-Horry Papers
Portuguese Dictionary (Oxford Dictionaries)
Poughkeepsie Journal
Pravda Digital Archive
ProceedingsFirst
Project Muse
ProQuest Congressional
ProQuest History Vault
ProQuest Research Library
PsycArticles
PsycINFO
PubMed
Punch Historical Archive, 1841-1992
Q
Queen Victoria's Journals
Quest for Labor Equality in Household Work: National Domestic Workers Union, 1965-1979
R
Readers' Guide Abstracts and Retrospective
Religion Index (ATLA)
RePEc (Research papers in Economics)/IDEAS
Research Library
Restoration Prose (Oxford Scholarly Editions)
Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals (RIPM) / RIPM Online Archive of Music Periodicals (Repetoire international de la presse musicale: RIPM) 1800-1950
Revolution in Honduras and American Business: The Quintessential “Banana Republic”
Revolution in Mexico, the 1917 Constitution, and Its Aftermath: Records of the U.S. State Department
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (1967-current)
RIPM: Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals (RIPM) / RIPM Online Archive of Music Periodicals (Repetoire international de la presse musicale: RIPM) 1800-1950
RISM database of music manuscripts-(RISM Series A/II) [English translation]
Rock's Backpages
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Russian Dictionary (Oxford Dictionaries)
S
Sabin Americana, 1500-1926
Safari Books Online
Science Citation Index
Science Online
Science.gov
ScienceDirect
SciFinder Scholar
SCImago Journal & Country Rank
Scopus
Serial Set of U.S. Congress
Shakespeare Bibliography
Shakespeare Survey
Short Story Index
SIAM Journals Online
Siku Quanshu
Slavery and Anti-Slavery: a Transnational Archive, Part I
Smithsonian Physical Tables
Social Science Citation Index
Social Science Research Network
Social Services Abstracts
Sociological Abstracts
Something About the Author Online
Song Titles in Vassar College Music Library Printed Collections
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics Online
South and Southeast Asian Literature
South Asian Newspapers (CRL's World Newspaper Archive)
South China Morning Post
Soviet Cinema Online: Periodicals and Newspapers, 1918-1942
Spanish Dictionary (Oxford Dictionaries)
Sports Illustrated Magazine Archive
Springer eBook Collections
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Statista.com
Statistical Abstract of the United States
Story Finder
Struggle for Women's Rights, Organizational Records, 1880-1990 (ProQuest History Vault)
Studies on Women & Gender Abstracts
Sunday Times Digital Archive
T
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae
Think Tank Search
THOMAS
ThomasNet
Times Digital Archive
Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive
Times of India Historical File
Times-Picayune
TOCS-IN
Twentieth Century African-American Poetry
Twentieth Century American Poetry
Twentieth Century English Poetry
U
U*X*L Encyclopedia of Science
U.S. Code
U.S. Congressional Serial Set
U.S. Declassified Documents Online
United Nations, Official Document System of the
University of Chicago Press
Urban Studies Abstracts
USA.gov
V
Vassar College Digital Newspaper Archives
Vassar College Student Diaries
Vassar College Student Letters
Vassar Encyclopedia
Vassar: The Alumnae/i Quarterly
Victorian Database Online
Virgil Encyclopedia
Vocal Masterclassics
Vogue Archive
W
Wall Street Journal
Wall Street Journal Historical File
Washington Post Historical File
Web of Science
Webster's Unabridged
Wiley Online Library
Women & Gender Studies: Archives Unbound
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
Women Organizing Transnationally: The Committee of Correspondence, 1952-1969
Women Writers Online
Women's History Online, 1542-1945 - see Gerritsen Collection
Women's Studies Encyclopedia Online
Women's Studies Manuscript Collections from the Schlesinger Library: Voting Rights, National Politics, and Reproductive Rights (ProQuest History Vault)
Women, War and Society, 1914-1918
Women’s Issues and Their Advocacy Within the White House, 1974-1977
World Development Indicators Online
World Music Discography of Recordings in the Vassar Music Library Collection
World Shakespeare Bibliography
WorldCat
Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations
Worldwide Books Exhibition Catalogues
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts