Libraries

Fashion and Costume Research

ARTFL (Univ. of Chicago)
French texts in literature, philosophy, arts, and sciences

ARTstor
Collections of art images and descriptive information as well as software tools for viewing and analyzing images
British Periodicals
Full text of hundreds of British periodicals from late 17th century to early 20th. Articles written about fashion of the times in magazines like Bow Bells.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online
Digital version of every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of works from the Americas.
Fashion Plate Collection, 19th Century (Claremont Colleges Digital Library)
The Myrtle Tyrrell Kirby Fashion Plate Collection comprises 650 images of nineteenth-century fashion plates from the Macpherson Collection of the Ella Strong Denison Library at Scripps College.

The full-color fashion plates in the Kirby collection were culled from a variety of women's periodicals and other mass-circulating works published between 1789 and 1914. The images are primarily from France, Britain, America, and Spain, and depict scenes of nineteenth-century middle- and upper-class life with an emphasis on the leisure practices of bourgeois women, men, and children. A number of plates also derive from trade journals for tailors, who used the images to create made-to-order garments for fashionable men.
Gallica

Periodicals Archive Online (PAO)
Archive of hundreds of journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences from 1802 on.
Vogue Magazine Archive
The entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition) reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Note that you can search by designer, article of clothing, type of document (article, advertisement, etc.), and more.
Vogue Italia Archive
HathiTrust
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.

Vassar College Fashion and Costume

Vassario n (yearbook) (Main LD 7188.V3)

Vassar Digital Library
Relevant collections include Glass Plate Negatives, Early Vassar, Vintage Vassar (videos)

La Belle Assemblee, or Court and Fashionable Magazine (available in British Periodicals)

Bow Bells (available in British Periodicals)

Harper's Weekly (in Special Collections, also online)

Ladies' Repository (fewer illustrations) (AP2.L15)

L'Illustration (in Special Collections)

Die Gartenlaube (in Special Collections)

Diogenes 1853 only (AP101.D5)

Puck (in Special Collections; some volumes available in HathiTrust )

Punch (in Special Collections; some volumes available in HathiTrust)

Kladderadatsch (in Special Collections; some volumes available in HathiTrust)

Godey's Magazine (Special Collections/Grille and online in American Periodical Series)

Journal des Demoiselles (some issues are available via Gallica)

Vassar College Fashion and Costume

Vassario n (yearbook) (Main LD 7188.V3)

Vassar Digital Library
Relevant collections include Glass Plate Negatives, Early Vassar, Vintage Vassar (videos)

Primary v. Secondary Sources
Definitions and examples of primary and secondary sources

C19: the Nineteenth Century Index
Consolidated index to the Nineteenth Century microfiche project, American Periodical Series, British Periodicals, Periodicals Index Online, Wellesley Index, Palmer's Index to the Times.
Periodicals Index Online
Article citations published in the arts, humanities and social sciences across more than 300 years.