Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Today's hours:

See all library hours »

  • Ask a Librarian
  • FAQ
.
We are excited to share our new Library catalog and search tool! We hope that you will find it easy to search and explore our collections. If you need help, have questions, or want to share feedback, visit the Ask a Librarian page.

Drama 222 - Sources of World Drama

A road map for Sources of World Drama Essay Assignments

Finding Newspaper and Magazine Production Reviews

Newspapers and Magazines - Searchable Full Text and Online Indexes  

The New York Times is an important source for reviews of play productions in the U.S., and occasionally abroad.

New York Times Historical (1855-2008)

New York Times (2004-current)

When searching for production reviews, enter play title and/or director's name in the first search field.  Then, for the second search field, select "Document Type" from the drop down menu, then click "Look up document types" and choose "Review."  This allows you to see the citations for reviews, without all of the ads and listings.

Times (London)

Nexis Uni (1985-present)

Times Digital Archive (1785-2008)

To omit advertisements and announcements from your search, mark the Features box.

Other Newspapers and Magazines 

Chicago Tribune (1989-current) / (1849-1989)
Los Angeles Times (1985-current) / (1881-1989)
Proquest News and Newspapers

Searchable full-text of all of the Proquest news databases, including Ethnic Newswatch, Gannett Newsstand, historical newspapers, etc.  Use the Document Type filter in the left column to limit to Reviews.

Ethnic NewsWatch (1960-current)

Full-text of newspapers of the U.S. ethnic and minority press in both English and Spanish.

Alternative PressWatch (1970-current)

Full-text newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press, including culture and arts coverage in city weekly newpapers.

 

Indexes to Magazines, Newspapers and Journals

Readers Guide Abstracts and Retrospective (1890-1992)

Indexes articles from the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States. Many of these magazines are held in print by the Vassar Library.

 

Print Volumes of Reviews from Newspapers

New York Theatre Critics' Reviews Ref PN 2000 .N76
 

Theatre Reviews is a complete guide and record of the New York stage, reprinted from New York Sun, New York Times, New York Herald Tribune, New York Post, New York Daily News, New York World Telegram, New York Daily News, Wall Street Journal, Time, New York Post, Women's Wear Daily, New York Times, Christian Science Monitor, and Newsweek.

 
American Theatre: a chronicle of comedy and drama, 1969-2000 Ref PN 2277 .N5
 
These chronologically arranged volumes put plays into the context of the theater of their time.
 
A Guide to Critical Reviews Ref PN 2266 .S24
 
The first volume of this series lists press reviews of major American productions that took place between 1909 and 1982.