Skip to main content

Today's hours:

See all library hours »

  • Ask a Librarian
  • FAQ

Political Science

This is a guide to general research in Political Science, International Politics, and Political Theory.

Web Document Sources

Introduction

This is a guide to finding primary sources for the study of political science including government documents, newspapers, presidential papers, etc.

Government Documents

Print Sources

 

Historic Documents (Ref. E 839.5.H57)

Online Sources

Congressional Record
Contains full-text of proceedings and debates of the United States Congress. Published daily when Congress is in session. Includes "Daily Digest", summary of the day's floor and committee activities.

Congressional Universe (LexisNexis)
Indexes congressional publications and CIS Legislative Histories (1970-present) Includes full text of congressional reports, documents, prints, bills, and the Congressional Record, testimony from congressional hearings, bill tracking through the House and Senate, public laws, Statutes at Large, and the U.S. Code, the Federal Register, information about members and committees, and more.

DDRS (Declassified Documents Reference System)
Selected US government documents declassified under the Freedom of Information Act obtained from presidential libraries. Documents originate from various government agencies, including the White House, the CIA, the FBI, and the State Department. Covers many major domestic and international events of the post-World War II era.

Digital National Security Archive
Significant primary documents central to US foreign and military policy since 1945. Largest collection of contemporary declassified national security information outside the United States Government. Comprised of 15 collections, each of which contains a diverse range of policy documents including presidential directives, memos, etc.

News