Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Today's hours:

See all library hours »

  • Ask a Librarian
  • FAQ

MUSIC 247: MUSIC AND IDEAS II: MOZART

ENLIGHTENMENT AND IN THE INFLUENCE OF RATIONALISM. (16th century to 1830s) RESOURCE GUIDE FOR THE MOZART ASSIGNMENT.

Letters and documents

Letters

*Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus.
The letters of Mozart and his family / chronologically arranged,
translated and edited with an introduction, notes and indexes
by Emily Anderson. 3rd edition. London : Macmillan, 1985.
CALL # Mus Lib RESERVE ML410.M9 A187 1985.

The Mozart letters in English translation. Note: some of the letters are excerpted. The Vassar Music Library also has the first and second editions. Third edition includes a concordence and is the most complete.


Briefe und Aufzeichnungen, Gesamtsausgabe. Hrsg. von der
Internationalen Stiftung Mozarteum, Salzburg
. Gesammelt und
erläutert von Wilhelm A. Bauer und Otto Erich Deutsch.
Kassel, New York, Bärenreiter, 1962-1975.
CALL # Mus Lib RESERVE ML410.M914 A4.

7 v. Considered the "definitive" collection of Mozart letters. In German. Includes a concordance to the 2nd edition of the Anderson (English) edition of letters.


Texts online: neither offers information for the years in this assignment.


In Mozart's Words

Still under construction; infromation for 1769-1773. "In Mozart’s Words provides multilingual access to the voluminous correspondence of Mozart and his family - approximately 1,400 letters - that will progressively be made available on-line. The conceptual idea of the project is to create a univocal database of all references to people, places and musical works contained in the letters, facilitating the systematic search of all the occurrences in them."

Letters and Documents of W. A. Mozart and His Family From the Holdings of the Mozarteum Foundation Salzburg

The Mozarteum Foundation Salzburg (MFS) currently holds approximately half of the known letters and documents of the Mozart family thus possessing the largest collection of this kind worldwide…In cooperation with the Packard Humanities Institute, Los Altos/ California, the ISM has recently digitalized all of these historical letters and documents at the highest technical standard.” There are approximately 700 latters and documents which are dated from about 1771 to 1858.


 

Other Documents

*Deutsch, Otto Erich.
Mozart, a documentary biography
, by Otto Erich Deutsch. Translated by Eric Blom, Peter Branscombe, and Jeremy Noble.
Stanford, Stanford University Press [c1965]
CALL # Mus Lib RESERVE ML410.M9 D4782 1965.

English translation of Deutsch's 1961 biography.

 

*Eisen, Cliff.
New Mozart documents : a supplement to O.E. Deutsch's documentary biography / Cliff Eisen. Stanford, Calif. : Stanford University Press, 1991.

CALL # Mus Lib RESERVE ML410.M9 E47 1991.

Additions and corrections to Deutsch's biography.

Eisen, Cliff.
Mozart, die Dokumente seines Lebens : Addenda, neue Folge
/
zusammengestellt von Cliff Eisen.
Kassel ; New York : Bärenreiter, 1997.  CALL # Musi Lib RESERVE 05 M87 I v.31 pt.2.
Translation of Eisen's 1991 work into German. Presents documents in the original language if not German.

Wolff, Christoph.
Mozart's Requiem : historical and analytical studies, documents, score / Christoph Wolff ; translated by Mary Whittall, with revisions and additions by the author. Berkeley : University of California Press, 1994.
CALL # Mus Lib RESERVE ML410.M9 W63413 1994.

Includes documents relating to the Requiem.

Iconography

*Mozart und seine Welt in zeitgenössischen Bildern / begründet von
Maximilian Zenger ; vorgelegt von Otto Erich Deutsch ;
[English version by Peter Branscombe] Kassel ; New York : Bärenreiter, 1961.
CALL # Mus Lib RESERVE 05 M87 I v.32.

Annotations for each illustration are in German and English at the back of the volume.

Deutsch, O.E. “Mozart Portraits” in

Landon, H. C. Robbins. The Mozart companion.
New York, Oxford University Press, 1956.

Call# Mus Book       ML410.M9 L24 1956