Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Today's hours:

See all library hours »

  • Ask a Librarian
  • FAQ

Issues in Feminism: Bodies/Text (WMST 160)

Introductory course in Women's Studies.

Journals

The following journals are good sources for articles by feminist scholars and critics.

Search for these journal titles using the "Journals" tab on the library website and then follow the links to the databases that include them in order to do your search.

Hastings Center Report

Hypatia

Signs

Feminist Review

Yale Journal of Law and Feminism (Not working in journals tab, so use this workaround: go to Lexis-Nexis database, choose "legal" from the menu at the top and then do a keyword(s) search (eg, prostitution) together with journal title: Yale Journal of Law and Feminism.)

Evaluating Results

You may end up with many more articles and books than you can use for your paper. How are you going to decide which ones are the best for your project?

  • Look for scholarly articles.
  • Read the abstracts.
  • Look for information about the author.
  • See Cornell's guide below.

Multidisciplinary Databases

These indexes cover a lot of different subject areas. JSTOR and Project Muse contain full text of articles from scholarly journals. Expanded Academic and Proquest contain some full text and link to full text in other Vassar databases through ArticleLinker.

All databases are available from the Library home page under Indexes and Databases alphabetically and by subject.

Specialized Databases

To roughly limit to feminist critiques and perspectives in the databases listed here that aren't specifically limited to women's studies (ie, databases other than GenderWatch and Contemporary Women's Issues), include the keyword "feminis*" in your search.