Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Today's hours:

See all library hours »

  • Ask a Librarian
  • FAQ

Africana Studies

Microform Collections

Africana Studies: Microform Collections in Vassar Library

The following collections are located in the Microtext Room. Microfilms are arranged by microfilm number. Microfiche are arranged alphabetically.

 


 

General Collections

  • Early American Imprints, 1639-1800
    Microfiche collection reproducing 42,000 early American publications (books, pamphlets, broadsides, maps, sermons, speeches, etc.)
  • The Nineteenth Century
    Over 13,000 English-language texts first published between 1801 and 1900. Vassar has Pts. 1 & 2 of the General Collection and the Specialist Collection (works on publishing, printing, and the diffusion of knowledge) Index to this collection is online at The Nineteenth Century.

 


 

Special Collections

  • Black Biographical Dictionaries, 1790-1950
    • Microfiche, under "Black"
    • Guide: Black Biography, 1790-1950. Ref. E 185.96 B52 1991. 3 v.
  • Black Panther
    • Microfilm 562, v.2-20 (1968-1980)
    • Indexing is through Alternative Press Index, Ref. AI3.A27.
  • The Black Power Movement. Part 2, The Papers of Robert F. Williams
    • Microfilm 1030, 26 reels
  • Black Workers in the Era of the Great Migration, 1916-1929
    • Microfilm 870, 25 reels
    • Guide: Microtext Rm. E 185.8 B5628 1985 guide
    • Chronicles migration of blacks from the rural South to Northern cities that occurred partially as a result of WWI. Information from National Archives "record groups" such as U.S. Housing Corp., Dept. of Agriculture, and the Women's Bureau. Also includes files of black administrators whose work concerned labor relations.
  • Caroline H. Dall Papers, 1811-1917
    • Microfilm 874, 45 reels
    • Guide: Microtext Rm. HQ 1413.D22 guide
    • Letterbooks, notebooks and journals of Dall, reflecting her interests in the anti-slavery and woman suffrage movements. Correspondents include Louisa May Alcott, Susan B. Anthony, Edward Everett Hall and others.
  • Claude A. Barnett Papers
    • Microfilm 846 pt. 1-3. 198 reels
    • Guide: Microtext Rm. PN 4882.5 B37 1984 guide, pt. 1-3
    • From the 1920's through the 1960's the Associated Negro Press supplied news stories, op-ed pieces, book reviews, record reviews, cartoons and photography to Black American newspapers. This collection contains news releases, organizational files of the ANP, and subject files of Barnett's correspondence.
  • Congress of Racial Equality (CORE) Papers
    • Microfilm 869, 80 reels
    • Guide: Microtext Rm. E 185.61 C66 guides pt. 1-5
    • Pt. 1. Western regional office, 1962-1965 (5 reels) -- pt. 2. Southern Regional Office, 1959-1966 (15 reels) -- pt. 3. Scholarship, educational and defense fund for racial equality, 1960-1976. Series A. Administrative files (13 reels) Series B. Leadership development files (10 reels) Series C. Legal department files (37 reels)
  • Countee Cullen Papers, 1921-1969
    • Microfilm 784, 45 reels
    • Guide: Microtext Rm. PS 3505.U287 Z459 1975
  • Eleanor Roosevelt Papers
    • Microfilm 895, 20 reels
    • Guide: Microtext Rm. E 807.1.R426
  • Fanny Lou Hamer, 1917-1977, Papers 1966-1978
    • Microfilm 818, 17 reels
    • Guide: Microtext Room E 185.97.H35 F3 1985
    • Hamer was a Black Mississippi sharecropper and civil rights activist. The collection includes correspondence, photographs, church bulletins, etc.
  • FBI File on the Muslim Mosque Inc.
    • In process, 3 reels
  • Federal Surveillance of Afro-Americans, 1917-1925
    • Microfilm 871, 25 reels
    • Guide: Microtext Rm. E 185.61.F43 1986 guide
    • The First World War, the Red scare, and the Garvey movement.
  • Fredi Washington Papers, 1925-1979
    • Microfilm 800, 2 reels
    • Guide: on the reel
    • Contains approximately one hundred pieces of correspondence, news clippings containing reviews of productions in which Fredi Washington appeared, and Washington's columns for The People's voice. Other groups in the collection are theatre programs, scripts, photographs and documentation of honors conferred on Fredi Washington
  • Ladies Auxiliary of the Brother Hood of Sleeping Car Porters Records, 1931-1968
    • Microfilm 941, 10 reels
    • Guide: Microtext Rm. HD 6515.R36 B76
  • Malcolm X FBI Surveillance Files
    • Microfilm 909, 2 reels
    • Guide: Not yet published
  • Martin Luther King, Jr., FBI File
    • Microfilm 777, 27 reels
    • Guide: Microtext Rm. E 185.97 K5 M268
  • Mary McLeod Bethune Papers
    • Microfilm759, 1 reel
    • Guide: on the reel
  • New Deal Agencies and Black America in the 1930s
    • Microfilm 840, 25 reels
    • Guide: Microtext Rm. JK 723 A34 N48
    • Covers the period between 1933 and 1940. Material from the National Archives papers of the Office of Education, National Youth Administration, Civilian Conservation Corps, etc.
  • Papers of the NAACP
    • Microfilm 838, pt. 1-2
    • Guide: Microtext Rm. E 185.61 N245 1982 guide, pt. 1 and 2
    • Includes personal correspondence of selected NAACP officials, 1919-1939. Some of the correspondence pertains to literary matters of James Weldon Johnson, Mary White Ovington and Walter F. White. Includes Roy Wilkins' corresondence with journalists as editor of The Crisis.
  • Papers of W.E.B. Du Bois: 1803 (1877-1963) 1965
    • Microfilm 691, 89 reels
    • Guide: Microtext Rm. Z 6616.D8 M35 guide
  • Paul L. Dunbar Papers at the Ohio Historical Society, Columbus
      Microfilm 893, 9 reels
    • Guide: Microtext Rm. PS 1557 F85x guide
    • Collection includes correspondence, legal documents, financial records, newspaper clippings and scrapbooks, as well as literary manuscripts.
  • Records of Ante-Bellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War--Ser. A-M
    • Microfilm 929
    • Guide: Microtext Rm. HD 1471 U5 R492
    • Microfilm 941 ser. A pt. 2, 10 reels
    • Guide: Microtext Rm. HD 6515 R36 B76 ser.A pt.2 guide
  • Records of the Brotherhood of Sleeping Car Porters
  • Records of the National Association of Colored Women's Clubs, 1895-1992
    • Microfilm: 953 pt. 1
    • Guide: Microtext Rm. E 185.86 N36 1993 guide pt. 1
    • Microfilm 974 pt. 1-4
    • Guide: Microtext Rm. E185.5 S68 1995 guide pt.1-4
  • Records of the Southern Christian Leadership Conference, 1954-1970
  • Schomburg Center Clipping File, Pt. 1, 1925-1974
    • Microfiche under "Schomburg"
    • Guide: Microtext Rm. E 185.5 S35 1986
    • The vertical file of the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture. Includes newspaper clippings, broadsides, programs, playbills, leaflets, pamphlets, book reviews, newsletters, etc.
  • Schomburg Center Clipping File, Pt. 2, 1975-1988
    • Microfiche under "Schomburg"
    • Guide: Microtext Rm. Z 1361 N39 S373 pt. 2
    • The vertical file of the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture. Includes newspaper clippings, broadsides, programs, playbills, leaflets, pamphlets, book reviews, newsletters, etc.
  • A Selection of Titles From the Schomburg Center ... for Research in Black Culture : Series II
    • Microfilm 580, 50 reels
    • Guide: Microtext Rm. Z 998 K73 guide
    • Over 350 separate titles from 1534 to 1955 in French, English, German, Italian and Spanish covering Africa, slavery, the U.S. and Caribbean, anthropology, religion, arts and letters.
  • Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee Papers, 1959-1972
    • Microfilm 939, 73 reels
    • Guide: Microtext Rm. E 185.61 S916 1981