It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
We are excited to share our new Library catalog and search tool! We hope that you will find it easy to search and explore our collections. If you need help, have questions, or want to share feedback, visit the Ask a Librarian page.
An international index to books, journals and dissertations on the modern languages
and literatures, including linguistics and folklore.
ABELL (Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature)
Indexes books, periodical articles, book reviews, collections of essays and dissertations.
Covers English language syntax, phonology, lexicology, etc. and English
poetry, prose, fiction, films, biography, travel writing, literary
theory and studies of individual authors, bibliography, and traditional
culture of the English-speaking world (custom, belief, narrative, song,
dance and material culture)
Contains indexing of most of the important journals in the humanities
and social sciences in the U.S., and many from abroad. WoS tends to be
more up to date than many subject indexes, such as ITER and International Medieval
Bibliography. The "Cited Reference Search" allows you to search the
footnotes for cited works, including films and literary works. To
search for a film as a cited source, use the director's name as author.
Try searching without a film title, since abbreviations of titles are
inconsistent. You can then select a range of abbreviated titles that
match what you're looking for. If you're just getting started with
citation searching, this is a great time to talk to a research librarian
and get some helpful hints!
Searching within a Journal Title
1. Select the "Journal" tab on the library website.
2. Type in Journal title.
3. Notice the coverage dates for online and print resources.