Skip to main content

Today's hours:

See all library hours »

  • Ask a Librarian
  • FAQ

MUSIC 136: World Music

Resources available for researching world music.

Research Guide

[Mus Ref Book   ML128.E8 P67 2004]

Post, Jennifer C.  Ethnomusicology : a guide to research. New York : Routledge, c2004
Published in 2004 this research guide has a lot of helpful information for the early stages of research. Good information on specific geographical areas.

GENERAL MUSIC ENCYCLOPEDIAS AND DICTIONARIES

[Mus Ref Book ML100 .N48]

The New Grove dictionary of music and musicians. London : Macmillan Publishers; Washington, D.C. : Grove's Dictionaries of Music, 2001. 29 volumes.

 

Grove Music Online now in Oxford Music Online

Oxford Music Online now inlcudes the Grove Music Online plus other Oxford music reference works. Grove Music Online comprises the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, second edition, edited by Stanley Sadie and John Tyrrell (London, 2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, edited by Stanley Sadie (London, 1992), and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, second edition, edited by Barry Kernfeld (London, 2002).

 

Grove Music Online is one of the four sources that are available through Oxford Music Online.

 

Grove music online is "the first stop for music research." In English. Both online and print versions include extensive bibliographies and lists of composers works ("works lists') Online version is updated periodically. Includes biographies and subjects; arranged alphabetically.

 

World music: Grove contains extensive articles on the music of geographical locations. Search by location, for example India, Indonesia, Bali, or by specific musical instrument, for example sitar, gamelan, rebec.

 

Article arrangement is typical.

 

 [Mus Ref Book  ML102.P66 C66 2003]  also found online through Credo Reference:

Continuum encyclopedia of popular music of the world / edited by John Shepherd ... [et al.] London ; New York : Continuum, 2003-

              9 volumes.


[Mus Ref Book ML100.G16 1998 v.1-10]

[Mus Sound Rec Mus Ref Book ML100.G16 1998 v.1-10 CD]

The Garland encyclopedia of world music. New York : Garland Pub., 1998-2002.

Volume 1, Africa

Volume 2, South America, Mexico, Central America, and the Caribbean

Volume 3, The United States and Canada

*Volume 4, Southeast Asia

Includes Indonesia.

*Volume 5, South Asia, the Indian subcontinent

Includes India.

 Volume 6, The Middle East

Volume 7, East Asia : China, Japan, and Korea

Volume 8, Europe

Volume 9, Australia and the Pacific Islands

*Vol 10, The world's music,: general perspectives and reference tools

Very helpful general glossary and general index.

 

 

This encyclopedia has a wealth of good information, but article arrangement is not typical.  Coverage in sections entitled "Issues and Processes" is not clear.  Begin by using the index in each volume as well as the general index in volume 10.  Also use the subsections in the Table of Contents at the front and the index at the back of each volume.

 

  

    Subject Specific Handbooks and Dictionaries

    [Mus Book       ML199 .G36 2000  ]

    [Mus Sound Rec  ML199 .G36 2000 CD]

    The Garland handbook of Latin American music Edited by Dale A.
    Olsen and Daniel E. Sheehy. New York : Garland Pub., 2000.

     

    [Mus Book       ML330 .G37 2008]
    [Mus Sound Rec  ML330 .G37 2008 CD]

             The Garland handbook of Southeast Asian music. Edited by Terry
            E. Miller and Sean Williams. New York : Routledge, 2008.

     

    [Mus Ref Book   ML102.I5 N48 1984 v.1-3] 

    The New Grove dictionary of musical instruments Edited by
    Stanley Sadie.New York : Grove's Dictionaries of Music, 1984.  3v.

    Although 25 years old, this dictionary has more extensive articles on specific musical instruments than the Grove.

                     │
    [Mus Ref Book   ML128.S17 R87 1996 ]

    Rust, E. Gardner.The music and dance of the world’s religions : a comprehensive, annotated bibliography of materials in the English language. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1996.