Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Today's hours:

See all library hours »

  • Ask a Librarian
  • FAQ
.
We are excited to share our new Library catalog and search tool! We hope that you will find it easy to search and explore our collections. If you need help, have questions, or want to share feedback, visit the Ask a Librarian page.

Guide to Resources in Women's and Gender Studies

Identifying Feminist/Lesbian-Feminist Magazines/Bookstores/Presses

Reference Books

Annotated Guide to Women's Periodicals  Ref PN4879.A66- 1981 edition and 1984 edition

Feminist Periodicals Ref HQ1180.F415x - 8 vols, 1981-1989

Guides on the Web

List of Lesbian Periodicals (Wikipedia)

Feminist and Lesbian Periodicals Collection (University of Oregon)

Microfilm

Herstory- Guide Z7962.W673, Microfilm 655

Off Our Backs- Microfilm 937

Sojourner- Microfilm 1058. published 1975-2002; VCL has 1987-2002 only.

Print

13th Moon

Feminist Art Journal

Feminist Issues

Heresies

Ms. Magazine

Sinister Wisdom

Women Artists News

Indexing/Full Text Online Access to 1970s-80s Publications

Indexing/Full Text

Alt Press Watch - Off Our Backs, 1970-

Digitized Full Text

The Furies - rainbowhistory.org

Heresies - Hampshire College

June L. Mazer Archive at UCLA - Connexus, Feminist Press, Faderman Collection, Southern California Women for Understanding, Women Against Violence Against Women

Lesbian Herstory Archives Newsletter

Signs - JStor

Woman's Art Journal - JStor

Women's Review of Books - JStor

Archives in the Northeast

Lesbian Herstory Archives - Brooklyn- extensive periodical collection, home to the world's largest collection of materials by and about lesbians and their communities.
Schlesinger Library - Cambridge, MA- extensive periodical collection, archives for New Words, Boston Women's Health Book Collective, Cambridge Women's Center, etc.