Libraries

GEOG 372: Preserving Whose City

Online Reference Works

Encyclopedia of Life Sciences (Wiley)

Article Databases

ABI/Inform Global (Proquest)
      Covers: 1971-current

America: History and Life (EBSCOHost)
      Covers: 1964-current
      Note: Does not work with IE on a Mac

Expanded Academic Index (Gale)
      Covers: 1980-current

Scopus (Elsevier)
      Covers: dates vary

News Databases

New York State Newspapers (Gale)
      Covers: 1996-current

New York Times (Proquest)
      Covers: 1986-current

New York Times Historical File (Proquest)
      Covers: 1851-1999
      Note: Printing only works on PCs.

Websites

The following databases can be cross-searched by clicking on the Specific Databases link and choosing other relevant databases from the list:

Avery Index, British Humanities Index, PAIS, Sociological Abstracts, and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts.

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
International coverage of scholarly and popular periodicals in architecture, architectural sculpture, city planning, and landscape architecture.
British Humanities Index
more...less...
Index to arts and humanities journals/magazines published in the UK and other English speaking countries, as well as quality newspapers published in the UK. Contains citations only, with links to electronic fulltext or other options. For best results, limit your search to articles and books, as conference proceedings and dissertations are difficult to obtain.
Google Scholar
Historical Abstracts
World history after 1450 excluding U.S. and Canada
PAIS International
Public policy and social issues.
Scopus
Abstract and citation database with emphasis on science and social sciences
Sociological Abstracts
Index to literature in sociology and related disciplines (anthropology, economics, education, medicine, political sciences, and more) Abstracts of journal articles, conference papers, dissertations, books, and book reviews.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Index to international political science literature.

Environment Complete
Contains records from more than 1,700 domestic and international titles going back to the 1940s as well as more than 120 monographs. Also contains full text for more than 680 journals. Covers agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, re
Expanded Academic Index
Index to and fulltext of articles in scholarly and popular English-language periodicals
JSTOR
Backfiles of scholarly journals
Research Library
Urban Studies Abstracts
Covers essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
Wiley Interscience
Scientific, technical, medical, and professional journals