.panel-collapse { display:block !important; } #collapse2 { display:block !important } Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Today's hours:

See all library hours »

  • Ask a Librarian
  • FAQ

HIST 125 - Infamy on Trial: Famous Trials in Early Modern Europe

This guide is a companion to the research paper assignment for Ms. Choudhury's course.

Article Databases

Historical Abstracts

Indexes journals, books and dissertations on history of the world, excluding US and Canada. Coverage of European events and culture begins with 1450.

ATLA Religion Index

Religion and theology scholarship in journals and multi-author works.

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index

Covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. Books written by a single author are not indexed.

MLA Bibliography

An international index to books, journals and dissertations on the modern languages and literatures, including linguistics and folklore.

ABELL (Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature)

Indexes books, periodical articles, book reviews, collections of essays and dissertations. Covers English language syntax, phonology, lexicology, etc. and English poetry, prose, fiction, films, biography, travel writing, literary theory and studies of individual authors, bibliography, and traditional culture of the English-speaking world (custom, belief, narrative, song, dance and material culture)

International Medieval Bibliography (Brepolis)

ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance

A bibliography of 250,000+ articles and reviews drawn from 400+ medieval and renaissance journals. Plus a growing bibliography of monographs pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).

JStor

Contains searchable full text of many scholarly journals from their first publication up to 5 years prior to the current year. Use the "advanced search" to limit to discipline(s) or publication(s).

Project Muse (Johns Hopkins Press et al)

University of Chicago Press

contains searchable full text of most recent issues of Signs, Renaissance Quarterly, History of Religions, etc.

Duke University Press

contains searchable full text of must recent issues of Journal of Medieval and Renaissance Studies, French Historical Studies, etc.

Arts and Humanities Search

Search for either a primary text or a work of criticism as "Cited Reference." The database searches the footnotes of a large set of scholarly journals. Cited titles are abbreviated in somewhat unpredictable ways. Search for "Cited Reference" keywords in combination with an author's last name as "Cited Author." To search for a contemporary critic's work, type the last name and first initial of the author's name, then choose "Cited Author Phrase" and look for matches in the cited author index, linked under the icon to the right of the search field.

Some ideas

Explore the subject headings of books listed in these keyword searches: