Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Today's hours:

See all library hours »

  • Ask a Librarian
  • FAQ
.
We are excited to share our new Library catalog and search tool! We hope that you will find it easy to search and explore our collections. If you need help, have questions, or want to share feedback, visit the Ask a Librarian page.

ENG 215: Pre-Modern Drama Before 1800

Databases for Scholarly Journal Articles

MLA Bibliography

An international index to books, journals and dissertations on the modern languages and literatures, including linguistics and folklore.

ABELL (Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature)

Indexes books, periodical articles, book reviews, collections of essays and dissertations. Covers English language syntax, phonology, lexicology, etc. and English poetry, prose, fiction, films, biography, travel writing, literary theory and studies of individual authors, bibliography, and traditional culture of the English-speaking world (custom, belief, narrative, song, dance and material culture)

ITER: Gateway to the Renaissance

A bibliography of 250,000+ articles and reviews drawn from 400+ medieval and renaissance journals. Plus a growing bibliography of monographs pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).

JStor

Contains searchable full text of many scholarly journals from their first publication up to 5 years prior to the current year. Use the "advanced search" to limit to discipline(s) or publication(s).

Project Muse (Johns Hopkins Press et al)

Duke University Press

contains searchable full text of must recent issues of Journal of Medieval and Early Modern Studies.

Historical Abstracts

Bibliography on the world's history (except USA and Canada) from 1450 to the present.

Web of Science

Contains indexing of most of the important journals in the humanities and social sciences in the U.S., and many from abroad.  WoS tends to be more up to date than many subject indexes, such as ITER.  The "Cited Reference Search" allows you to search the footnotes for cited works, including films and literary works.  To search for a film as a cited source, use the director's name as author.  Try searching without a film or book title, since abbreviations of titles are inconsistent.  You can then select a range of abbreviated titles that match what you're looking for.  

Searching within a Journal Title

1. Select the "Journal" tab on the library website.

2. Type in Journal title.

3. Notice the coverage dates for online and print resources.

 

Searching for a Known Article Title

If you know the title of a journal article you'd like to find (for example, if there's a journal article cited in a book), enter the article title into Discover to find out if we have it, or to request it using the links to Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad).