It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The resources on this page will help with your research on issues related to African American history and culture within the United States. Specifically those people of African descent who claim ancestry from enslaved Africans brought to the United States during the Transatlantic Slave Trade. You can also find information about populations of Afrodescendents that immigrated to the United States voluntarily.
Start your search...
Start with a Vassar Library catalog search for books, ebooks, and other materials and then try the following subject-specific databases for your research:
Includes documents from the United States and Europe, as well as other parts of the world. In addition to newspaper collections and books published in the antebellum era, Slavery and Anti-Slavery contains documents from several archives originally available only on microfilm.
Company records; business and personal correspondence; documents pertaining to the purchase, hire, medical care, and provisioning of slave laborers; descriptions of production processes; and journals recounting costs and income.
Materials on civil rights, the development of civil rights policy, and the debate over civil rights legislation during the administration of President George H.W. Bush and during his tenure as vice president. Contents include memoranda, talking points, correspondence, legal briefs, transcripts, news summaries, draft legislation, statements of administration policy (SAP’s), case histories, legislative histories and news-clippings.
Files from the national office of the Congress, including several hundred case files, publications produced and received by the Congress, correspondence and other materials from Civil Rights Congress chapters around the country, and files of the New York headquarters of the Communist Party of the United States of America.
Collection from the Moorland-Spingarn Research Center at Howard University, Washington, D. C. Includes transcriptions of close to 700 interviews with those who made history in the struggles for voting rights, against discrimination in housing, for the desegregation of the schools, to expose racism in hiring, in defiance of police brutality, and to address poverty in the African American communities. Coverage: 1967-1973 (covers the 1950s through early 1970s)
Records of major civil rights organizations and personal papers of leaders and observers of the 20th century Black freedom struggle and other aspects of African American life in the 20th century, like religion, sports, education, fraternal organizations, and entertainment.