Libraries

Today's hours:

Ask a Librarian
FAQ

Political Science

Guide to resources and research strategies in Political Science.

SELECTED POLITICAL SCIENCE REFERENCE SOURCES (PRINT)

Almanac of American Politics 1974 - present (annual) Reference JK1012 .A44 (volumes 2010-2018);
volumes 1974-2008 are located in the main library stacks. This series is published every two years.

Writing in Political Science: A Practical Guide by Diane E. Schmidt JA86 .S36 2005

Political Science Research Methods by Janet Buttolph Johnson and Jason Mycoff (eds.) JA71 .J552016

SELECTED POLITICAL SCIENCE REFERENCE SOURCES (ONLINE)

Oxford Bibliographies Online
Authoritative research guides to current scholarship in a variety of subject areas. Includes both annotated bibliographies and encyclopedia-like articles written and reviewed by subject specialists. Vassar's access does not include all subjects. Full list available below.
African American Studies
African Studies
American Literature
Anthropology
Atlantic History
British and Irish literature
Buddhism
Greek and Roman studies
Islamic studies
Latin American Studies
Music
Philosophy
Political science
Sociology
HeinOnline
Legal history, government documents, and law-related periodicals. Includes access to New York State package (State Constitutions, Session Laws, State Statutes, State Reports, Attorney General Opinions, Prestatehood Legal Materials for all 50 states, and Political and Legal History).
SAGE Research Methods
Books, reference works, journal articles, instructional videos, and data sets; large collection of qualitative methods books
CQ Almanac + Archive
Annual reference for studying the U.S. Congress

Blackwell Dictionary of Political Science (Online)
Introduction to the terminology of political science. Includes short biographies of writers in the discipline.
Almanac of American Politics
Directory of congressional and federal agency staff profiles. Compiled and adapted from print series.
Encyclopedia of Political Theory
Source for key political theorists and their ideas, main schools of political thought, institutions and practices inspired by political thought.
Encyclopedia of Political Communication
Discusses the major theoretical approaches to the field. Focuses on important political messages such as political speeches, televised political advertising, political posters and print advertising, televised political debates, and Internet sites.

Last Updated: Oct 24, 2024 12:10 PM
URL: https://library.vassar.edu/politicalscience
Print Page

Subjects: Political Science

Tags: congress, gov, government, legislation, polisci, politics, voting