Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Today's hours:

See all library hours »

  • Ask a Librarian
  • FAQ
.
We are excited to share our new Library catalog and search tool! We hope that you will find it easy to search and explore our collections. If you need help, have questions, or want to share feedback, visit the Ask a Librarian page.

EPI Working Group - Race & Racism in Historical Collections

Group membership

  • Jessica Brier (Loeb Art Center)
  • Debra Bucher (Libraries; co-chair)
  • Mary Ellen Czesak (Biology)
  • Kayla Gonzalez (Center for Career Education; VC ‘20)
  • Emma Gronbeck (Libraries)
  • Luis Inoa (Office of Student Living and Wellness)
  • Melanie Maksin (Libraries; co-chair)
  • Mia Mask (Film/Africana Studies/Media Studies)
  • Osman Nemli (Philosophy/Environmental Studies/Urban Studies/Science, Technology, & Society)
  • Ronald Patkus (Libraries)
  • Brian Scannell (VC ‘23; co-chair)
  • Dylan Stratton (Office of Residential Life)
  • Laura Streett (Libraries)

Previous group members include:

  • Gabrielle James (VC’22)
  • Felicity Martin (EPI)
  • Kathleen Susman (Biology/Dean of Faculty Office)

Further reading

This bibliography is a work in progress that represents the collaborative efforts of the EPI RRHC project group and other Vassar College librarians and faculty. Anyone is welcome to contact us to recommend additional resources! 

About this group

The Race & Racism in Historical Collections Project Group (now the RRHC Working Group) formed in spring 2021 under the auspices of Vassar's Engaged Pluralism Initiative (EPI). Our charge: 

The Race and Racism in Historical Collections EPI Project Group will work with the library to describe, contextualize, and provide access to Vassar’s history, as represented in the historical collections of yearbooks, diaries, photographs, and newspapers, in ethical and honest ways. These historical collections, primarily from the early 20th century, include language and images that reflect racial stereotypes, bias, and racism, perpetrated by individuals as well as embedded within Vassar’s institutional culture and the wider culture of systemic racism that persists to this day.

This group will facilitate discussions with the Vassar community about these collections, and about the library’s responsible stewardship of this evidence of the college’s past. We plan to create an inclusive space for engagement and collective reflection about how our past echoes in our present.

Our ongoing work

 In 2021-2022, the Race & Racism in Historical Collections Working Group: 

  • Learned more about the glass plate negatives and other historical collections from project group member Laura Streett
  • Read and discussed articles from the library/archives literature related to critical librarianship, critical archival studies, and ethical cataloging practices
  • Began a discussion of "Whiteness as Property" by Cheryl I. Harris at the recommendation of project group member Mia Mask
  • Identified and discussed examples of content statements and cataloging from other archives and institutions
  • Revised the content statement about Vassar's historical collections for the Vassar Digital Library, which relaunched in summer 2022
  • Participated in the February 2022 EPI Open House to spread the word about our project group
  • Presented at conferences (Oberlin Group Libraries Lightning Talks, LACOL 2022) to share what we're doing and to learn from colleagues at other institutions who may be engaged in similar work

Fall 2022: CLCS 181

In fall 2022, working group members Deb Bucher and Melanie Maksin co-taught a one-credit Intensive with Jonathon Kahn (EPI Director and Professor of Religion): Facing the Vassar College Archive. 

EPI Fall 22 Intensive