Vassar's new Library Search launched on June 7, 2022. (Read more about the implementation process here.) This guide is intended to help users navigate the new system, which includes both our catalog (books, special collections, media, government documents, and more) and our electronic resources (journals, journal articles, ebooks, databases, and other online materials). 

Known issues: There are several issues that we've identified with the new system and we're working to fix them. Please see this part of the guide for more details and workarounds. 

This guide is a work in progress! If you have any questions or comments about Vassar Library Search, please email researchhelp@vassar.edu or visit the Ask a Librarian page. 

Our guide, An Introduction to Library Search, presents useful tips and suggestions to help you navigate library resources for your coursework or research. If you would like a paper copy, please let your liaison librarian know!

Visit the Vassar Libraries homepage to use the simple search box.

• You can limit your search by collection or material type from the homepage; just select what you'd like to search
  • "Books, Articles, & More" = everything within Library Search
  • "Physical Collections" = what's physically available in the libraries
  • "Available Online" = eresources including journal articles
  • "Film & Video" = DVDs, streaming, and other formats
  • "Course Reserves" = items on reserve in any of Vassar's libraries
  • "Archives & Special Collections," "Art Library," "Music Library" = items available in these libraries
• When you get your search results, use the options on the left side of the page to further refine your search by Resource Type, Subject, Creation Date, Language, and more

Visit the Library Search page to use the simple search or the advanced search.

• The advanced search is similar to the advanced search in the former library catalog. You can use this to create a very targeted search, either with keywords, material type (including scores or government documents), call numbers, subject headings, or other options. 

The Starts With/Browse search is useful if you're looking for works by a particular author, if you have an exact title of an item, or if you would like to browse through subject headings or call numbers. 

We recommend that you sign into Library Search whether you're on or off campus. When you sign in, you can:

• View full search results (meaning, you'll see more if you're signed in!)
• View your library account and renew materials
• Make requests from the Annex, place recalls, and submit interlibrary loan requests 
• Export citations to Zotero and Endnote
• Create lists of favorites, including searches and item records

What's included?

• Everything that was in the former library catalog: books, audio and video recordings, scores, manuscripts and special collections, government documents, and more
• Many of our electronic resources, including ebooks, journals, articles, streaming media, digitized primary sources, and more

What's not included? 

• Some of our databases; go to the Databases A-Z list to get access to subject-specific resources or other familiar tools, or use the Research Guides to identify other relevant materials for your subject/topic
• Finding aids from Archives & Special Collections; visit the Finding Aids Collection 
• Items in the Vassar College Digital Library 

We're actively working on Vassar Library Search, so you may notice some issues as you use this new system. We apologize for any inconvenience this causes and we appreciate your patience! Here are some tips for workarounds or getting help: 

• The ConnectNY system is currently unavailable, although we are still able to request materials from CNY partners and other libraries through Interlibrary Loan. Please use ILLiad to make requests. 
• Some patrons may encounter issues with loan periods or notification emails from the system. If you have any questions about your library account, contact the Library Circulation Office: circulation@vassar.edu. 

If you notice any issues not listed here, please let us know: Ask a Librarian.