HathiTrust brings together public domain and in-copyright materials digitized by Google, the Internet Archive, library in-house operations, and other initiatives. The full text of books, journals and other printed materials are searchable, and public domain materials, including books published earlier than 1926, can be accessed and read in full.
Many works that are available in HathiTrust are not present in Google Books because they were not digitized by Google, or not available in Google Books because of differing rights determination processes. The largest categories of these include U.S. federal government documents and public domain works published in the United States after 1923. HathiTrust has a traditional online public catalog interface, with powerful querying and advanced search options. Full-text searches inside in-copyright materials yield information about the location of search terms that occur throughout the work, helping users determine the relevance of works to their topic or find information quickly in a print copy.
Early American Fiction, 1787-1895
Full-text of prose fiction written by Americans. Visualization tools analyze term frequency and track criticism over time.
Early English Books Online (EEBO)
Digital facsimiles of virtually every work printed in English from 1473-1700. Covers a wide variety of subjects, including English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, mathematics, and science.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
Digitization of books published during the 18th Century in the areas of history, geography, social sciences, religion and philosophy, general reference, fine arts, literature and language, law, medicine, science and technology.
Collection of manuscripts and visual and printed works providing accounts of the English abroad, c1550-1850, that highlight the influence of continental travel on British art, architecture, urban planning, literature and philosophy. Includes many writings by forgotten or anonymous travelers, including many women, whose daily experiences offer a vivid insight into the experience and practicalities of travel across the centuries.
Manuscripts of European travel writing from the later medieval period.
Oxford Scholarly Editions Online
Interlinked collection of authoritative Oxford editions of major works from the humanities. Vassar has access to Early Seventeenth Century Poetry, Early Seventeenth Century Prose, Eighteenth Century Drama, Eighteenth Century Poetry, Eighteenth Century Prose, Restoration Poetry, Restoration Prose, Latin Poetry, and Plato.
Romanticism: Life, Literature and Landscape
Verse manuscripts and correspondence of William Wordsworth and his fellow writers offer an insight into the working methods of the poet and the wider social, political, and natural environment that shaped much of his work and that of his contemporaries.
Travel Writing, Spectacle, and World History
Accounts by women of their travels across the globe from the early 19th century to the late 20th century, ranging from manuscripts, diaries and correspondence to drawings, guidebooks and photographs.
Early women’s writing, including full transcriptions of texts published between 1526 and 1850, focusing on materials that are rare or inaccessible.
