Libraries

Today's hours:

Ask a Librarian
FAQ

GEOG/URBS 248: Housing Crises and Activism

USING DATABASES

The databases on this page are suggested starting points for locating scholarly peer-reviewed articles, along with other types of informational resources. Also visit:

GEOG/ URBS 248: DATABASES FOR STARTING YOUR RESEARCH

Vassar Library Search
Access the vast resources available at the Vassar College Libraries. Use Library Search to locate books, special collections, media, government documents, and electronic resources, including journals, journal articles, ebooks, databases, and more.

Urban Studies Abstracts
Covers essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
PAIS
Index to journals, books, government publications, etc., on global public policy and social issues.
America: History and Life
Index to scholarship on U.S. and Canadian history. Date range: 1960-present

ADDITIONAL MULTIDISCIPLINARY DATABASES

Google Scholar
Links to peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations
JSTOR
Provides full text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, architecture and art history and other fields. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title, but usually ends several years before the current year.
Scopus
Index of articles from scholarly journals spanning the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Provides cited reference searching capability.
1. For Safari users: limits currently do not work. Please use Firefox. 2. For Mac users: When using Firefox, you may be confronted with a request to login. To eliminate this problem, please clear the cache in Firefox and restart the browser.
Web of Science
Index of articles from scholarly journals spanning the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Provides cited reference searching capability.
Includes Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI-EXPANDED); Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (AHCI); Book Citation Index - Science (BCKI-S); Book Citation Index - Social Sciences & Humanities (BCKI-SSH); Emerging Sources Citation Index (ESCI); Current Chemical Reactions (CCR-EXPANDED); and Index Chemicus (IC)

ADDITIONAL DISCIPLINE SPECIFIC DATABASES

ProQuest Tip: search multiple databases at once by going to the collapsed side menu on the search screen and select Change database to choose the databases of interest. All of the below databases are ProQuest databases.

EconLit
Indexes journal articles, books, dissertations, and working papers in economics from national and international economics journals.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Newspapers, magazines and journals from ethnic, minority and native presses.
Includes the module Ethnic NewsWatch: A History™, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989. Full coverage: 1959 - present.
For historical content, date filter for years "1959-1989".
GenderWatch
Full-text of publications on issues of gender in a broad spectrum of subject areas.
Social Services Abstracts
Abstracts of current research on social work, human services, and related areas.
Sociological Abstracts
Covers international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Politics, international relations, government, public policy.