Full text of hundreds of British periodicals from late 17th century to early 20th. Articles written about fashion of the times in magazines like Bow Bells.

Digital version of every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of works from the Americas.

The Myrtle Tyrrell Kirby Fashion Plate Collection comprises 650 images of nineteenth-century fashion plates from the Macpherson Collection of the Ella Strong Denison Library at Scripps College.

The full-color fashion plates in the Kirby collection were culled from a variety of women's periodicals and other mass-circulating works published between 1789 and 1914. The images are primarily from France, Britain, America, and Spain, and depict scenes of nineteenth-century middle- and upper-class life with an emphasis on the leisure practices of bourgeois women, men, and children. A number of plates also derive from trade journals for tailors, who used the images to create made-to-order garments for fashionable men.

Allows you to browse home sewing patterns by decade.

Digitized collections of the Fashion Institute of Technology's Special Collections and Archives

Archive of hundreds of journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences from 1802 on.

Consolidated index to the Nineteenth Century microfiche project, American Periodical Series, British Periodicals, Periodicals Index Online, Wellesley Index, Palmer's Index to the Times.

Article citations published in the arts, humanities and social sciences across more than 300 years.