Libraries

Today's hours:

See all library hours »

Ask a Librarian
FAQ

POLI 170: Political Theory

Spring 2023, Dr. Whiteduck

Newspaper Databases

Below is a selection of newspaper sources. For more newspapers,

Access World News
Local, regional, national, and international primary source information on issues and events from newspapers, newswires, transcripts, video clips, the web, and blogs. Date range: 1972 - present (updated daily)
Ethnic NewsWatch
Newspapers, magazines and journals from ethnic, minority and native presses.
Includes the module Ethnic NewsWatch: A History™, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989. Full coverage: 1959 - present.
For historical content, date filter for years "1959-1989".
Nexis Uni
Legal info and national and international newspapers. Formerly LexisNexis Academic.

Chronicling America: Newspapers of Indigenous Peoples of North America
Searchable digitized copy of newspapers produced by native peoples of North America between 1829 and 1921 (13 titles currently available). Part of the Chronicling America newspaper project at the Library of Congress.

Indigenous Newspapers in North America
Print journalism from the indigenous peoples of the United States and Canada. Includes national periodicals as well as local community news and student publications. The 45 unique titles also include bi-lingual and Indigenous-language editions, such as Hawaiian, Cherokee, and Navajo languages. Date range: 1828-2016
Original physical materials are held by the Sequoyah National Research Center at the University of Arkansas, Little Rock, and the Newberry Library in Chicago.
Alt-Press Watch
Newspapers and magazines from independent presses, which offer an alternative to mainstream media perspectives on issues and events. Date range: 1970 - present
Coverage of the 1970s is spotty and should be complemented with the Alternative Press Index and Independent Voices.
Alternative Press Index
Index of small press newspapers, magazines, and newsletters focused on the theories and practices of radical social change. Topics include socialism, democracy, anarchism, ecology, feminism, organized labor, indigenous peoples, and the LGBTQ community. Date range: 1969-2021
Independent Voices
Open access collection of U.S. alternative press publications produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century. Basic search is available as well as the ability to narrow by broad themes. Minimal metadata is included and there is no information about where the original source material is held. Date range:1950-2016.
As of 2024-03-05, the sorting function does not work.