Libraries

Today's hours:

See all library hours »

Ask a Librarian
FAQ

ANTH 120: The Human Animal

Databases

Scopus
Index of articles from scholarly journals spanning the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Provides cited reference searching capability.
1. For Safari users: limits currently do not work. Please use Firefox. 2. For Mac users: When using Firefox, you may be confronted with a request to login. To eliminate this problem, please clear the cache in Firefox and restart the browser.
Web of Science
Index of articles from scholarly journals spanning the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Provides cited reference searching capability.
The Web of Science “Core Collection” includes the following:
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (AHCI)
Book Citation Index - Science (BCKI-S)
Book Citation Index - Social Sciences & Humanities (BCKI-SSH)
Current Chemical Reactions (CCR-EXPANDED)
Emerging Sources Citation Index (ESCI)
Index Chemicus (IC)
Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI)
JSTOR
Provides full text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, architecture and art history and other fields. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title, but usually ends several years before the current year.

Anthropology Plus
Index to scholarship in anthropology, archaeology and related interdisciplinary research. Date range: approximately 1800-present
This product combines the Royal Anthropological Institute’s Anthropological Index and Harvard University's Anthropological Literature databases
AnthroSource
American Anthropological Association publications

PubMed
Index of scholarly articles relevant to biomedicine and clinical medicine.
BioOne
Journals in biology, ecology, and environmental sciences
Environment Complete
Index of journal articles relevant to agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, and more.
ProQuest Social Science Collection
Combined search of 15 ProQuest products: Alt-PressWatch, APA PsycArticles, APA PsycInfo, Black Study Center, Coronavirus Research Database, Econlit, ERIC, Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, Healthcare Administration Database, LGBT Magazine Archive, PAIS, PTSDpubs, Sociological Abstracts, and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts

Biodiversity Heritage Library
The BHL collects and digitizes published literature on biological diversity to ensure that this biodiversity heritage is made available to a global audience through open access principles. The BHL serves texts with information on over a 150 million species names.

Hathi Trust
Collaborative repository of digitized books, magazines, journals, and government publications. Materials date from approximately 1530-to 2020.
JSTOR
Provides full text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, architecture and art history and other fields. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title, but usually ends several years before the current year.

Journals

Locate & access both print and online holdings (available volumes and issues) by searching for the journal name using the Journal Titles search tool.

American Journal of Biological Anthropology
- American Journal of Physical Anthropology (previous title)
Annual Review of Anthropology
Evolutionary Anthropology
American Journal of Primatology
Evolutionary Anthropology
Folia Primotologica
International Journal of Primatology
Journal of Human Evolution
Primates

Yearbook of Biological Anthropology & Yearbook of Physical Anthropology

Annual publication to supplement the American Journal of Biological Anthropology, formerly the ,American Journal of Physical Anthropology, 1980- present.

Annual Review of Anthropology

Review articles in the subfields of anthropology, including archaeology, biological anthropology, linguistics and communicative practices, regional studies and international anthropology, and sociocultural anthropology, 1970- 2017.

Annual Review of Ecology, Evolution, and Systematics

Review articles in the fields of ecology, evolutionary biology, and systematics, as they apply to all life on Earth, 1970- 2017.

The Origins Of Modern Humans: Biology Reconsidered

Edited anthology of most accepted common theories and key research, 2013.

Journal & Article Evaluation Checklist (great for your own writing too)
Ulrich's international periodicals directory
- Contains listings of currently published journals, newsletters, and annuals, as well as discontinued publications. It also contains complete names and addresses of journal publishers
Web of Science Journal Impact Factor
- WoS indexes a smaller collection of higher quality journals.
- In WoS search results, click on the journal title to view the JIF and more information.
View author profiles and publications in Web of Science, Scopus, GoogleScholar, researcher/institutional websites

Full Text Instructions

When locating e-resources in Library Search, click on the title from the results list to view the complete record. You might also find yourself in a Library Search Record after clicking a Vassar Full Text link.

From within the record, go to the View Online section, about halfway down the page. If there are multiple options, select the entry that that fits your date range. If there are multiple entries that align with your date(s), any entry should work.

eresource access links with different date range coverage

Clicking on these links will bring you to the full-text, however in some cases, you may land on the main journal page. From there, navigate to the correct issue.

Look for the VC Full Text icon or full text links as you search library databases.

Clicking Link to Full Text may take you to the full text, or, locate the item in Library Search, where you can navigate to the full text through another online resource, locate print holdings, or place an interlibrary loan request.

As you are doing research, you may encounter paywalls prompting you to purchase articles. The Library's collections and interlibrary loan (ILL) networks are in place so you never have to pay out of pocket for e-resources.

You will see publisher full text links in your database search results. These might bring you to the full text, but if you are prompted to pay for an item, look for the Vassar Link to Full Text option.

GoogleScholar may also link you to full text through a publisher, an institutional repository, or a copy the author (s) posted online.

Check for the item within Library Search to confirm our access, or connect with ILL options.

If you are off-campus, confirm your proxy connection.

If you frequently encounter paywalls for library e-resources, especially if you know Vassar subscribes to the source, see Connecting from off-campus on this guide for troubleshooting tips.