Skip to Main Content
Vassar

Today's hours:

See all library hours »

  • Ask a Librarian
  • FAQ

STS 200: Conceptualizing STS Theories and Practice

Selecting Databases

In the Database List, choose each disciplinary lens you're using for your project from the drop-down Departments/Programs menu at the top left to see the suggested resources for those subjects. Or, search a multidisciplinary database, such as Scopus or Web of Science, then filter your search results by discipline/subject area(s) 

When selecting databases, match your information need to the database, platform or resource:

  • Consider format, scope & functionality, such as
    • Multidisciplinary vs. subject specific database
    • Format type, for example, scholarly articles vs. newspaper articles

Databases

Journal & Article Evaluation

  • Journal & Article Evaluation Checklist (great for your own writing too)
  • Web of Science Journal Impact Factor  
    • WoS indexes a smaller collection of higher quality journals. 
    • In WoS search results, click on the journal title to view the JIF and more information.
  • View author profiles and publications in Web of Science, Scopus, GoogleScholar, researcher/institutional websites
  • View article citation metrics; this doesn't equal consensus or quality, however may indicate an impact on knowledge in a field
  • Ulrich's international periodicals directory
    • Contains listings of currently published journals, newsletters, and annuals, as well as discontinued publications. It also contains complete names and addresses of journal publishers

See also: 

Full Text Instructions

When locating e-resources in Library Search, click on the title from the results list to view the complete record. You might also find yourself in a Library Search Record after clicking a Vassar Full Text link. 

From within the record, go to the View Online section, about halfway down the page. If there are multiple options, select the entry that that fits your date range. If there are multiple entries that align with your date(s), any entry should work. 

eresource access links with different date range coverage

Clicking on these links will bring you to the full-text, however in some cases, you may land on the main journal page. From there, navigate to the correct issue. 

Look for the VC Full Text icon or full text links as you search library databases. 

https://libapps.s3.amazonaws.com/accounts/327345/images/Screenshot_2023-06-05_at_3.53.31_PM.png

Clicking Link to Full Text may take you to the full text, or, locate the item in Library Search, where you can navigate to the full text through another online resource, locate print holdings, or place an interlibrary loan request.

As you are doing research, you may encounter paywalls prompting you to purchase articles. The Library's collections and interlibrary loan (ILL) networks are in place so you never have to pay out of pocket for e-resources. 

You will see publisher full text links in your database search results. These might bring you to the full text, but if you are prompted to pay for an item, look for the Vassar Link to Full Text option. 

GoogleScholar may also link you to full text through a publisher, an institutional repository, or a copy the author (s) posted online. 

Check for the item within Library Search to confirm our access, or connect with ILL options. 

If you are off-campus, confirm your proxy connection. 

If you frequently encounter paywalls for library e-resources, especially if you know Vassar subscribes to the source, see Connecting from off-campus on this guide for troubleshooting tips.