In the Database List, choose each disciplinary lens you're using for your project from the drop-down Departments/Programs menu at the top left to see the suggested resources for those subjects. Or, search a multidisciplinary database, then filter your search results by discipline/subject area(s)
When selecting databases,, consider:
Example EconLit Search: (Medicaid expansion) AND (labor OR employment)
PubMed Search Example: (Medicaid expansion) AND (labor OR employment)
Index of articles from scholarly journals spanning the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Provides cited reference searching capability.
Search for journal titles in Library Search; note that the journal website may not be the best access point- we may have full text access through another platform. If we do not have a title, check to see if open access holdings are available, or request specific articles through InterLibrary Loan.
Ulrich's directory provides information about a journal's peer-review status (refereed) and what databases index the journal.
Selected Journals
Google Scholar example search: (Medicaid expansion) AND (labor OR employment)
Google Scholar Is Not Broken (yet), but There Are Alternatives. London School of Economics: Impact of Social Sciences, 22 Oct. 2024.
| Benefits | Drawbacks |
|---|---|
|
|
When locating e-resources in Library Search, click on the title from the results list to view the complete record. You might also find yourself in a Library Search Record after clicking a Vassar Full Text link.
From within the record, go to the View Online section, about halfway down the page. If there are multiple options, select the entry that that fits your date range. If there are multiple entries that align with your date(s), any entry should work.
Clicking on these links will bring you to the full-text, however in some cases, you may land on the main journal page. From there, navigate to the correct issue.
Look for the VC Full Text icon or full text links as you search library databases.
Clicking Link to Full Text may take you to the full text, or, locate the item in Library Search, where you can navigate to the full text through another online resource, locate print holdings, or place an interlibrary loan request.
As you are doing research, you may encounter paywalls prompting you to purchase articles. The Library's collections and interlibrary loan (ILL) networks are in place so you never have to pay out of pocket for e-resources.
You will see publisher full text links in your database search results. These might bring you to the full text, but if you are prompted to pay for an item, look for the Vassar Link to Full Text option.
GoogleScholar may also link you to full text through a publisher, an institutional repository, or a copy the author (s) posted online.
Check for the item within Library Search to confirm our access, or connect with ILL options.
If you are off-campus, confirm your proxy connection.
If you frequently encounter paywalls for library e-resources, especially if you know Vassar subscribes to the source, see Connecting from off-campus on this guide for troubleshooting tips.
