This is a selection of digitized collections of primary source materials, including both library subscription and open access resources. For more primary source collections, check the library databases directory and select Database Type: Primary Sources from the center menu.
To determine whether an organization or individual has materials in an archive, search ArchiveGrid, a database of archive descriptions and finding aids. You may find that some of these materials have been digitized. Finding Aids can be helpful in discovering further key events and people, as well as connections and timelines for events that can help you in further searching.
Historical records of political and social organizations founded by LGBTQ individuals are included, as well as publications by and for lesbians and gays, and extensive coverage of governmental responses to the AIDS crisis. The archive also contains personal correspondence and interviews with numerous LGBTQ individuals, among others. The archive includes gay and lesbian newspapers from more than 35 countries, reports, policy statements, and other documents related to gay rights and health, including the worldwide impact of AIDS, materials tracing LGBTQ activism in Great Britain and the United States. Date range: 1940-2014, with the bulk from 1950-1990
Periodicals, newsletters, manuscripts, government records, organizational papers, correspondence, posters, and other primary source material created by political and social organizations founded by and for the LGBTQ community. Date range 1906-2019, with the bulk from 1950-2019
These databases have collections of newspapers published generally pre-1990, often digitized from print or microfilm. They are searchable, but be aware that the results won't be as accurate as born-digital newspapers.
Combined search of the historic Boston Globe, Chicago Defender, Chinese Newspapers Collection, Hartford Courant, Los Angeles Times, New York Amsterdam News, New York Times, South China Morning Post, Times of India, and Washington Post.
Searchable archive of American newspapers including Early American Newspapers (1690-1922) and Hispanic American Newspapers (1808-1980).
Provides access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers from more than 35 states and chronicles a century and a half of the African American experience.
Starting with Freedom's Journal in 1827, the database will eventually contain all major African-American newspapers published in the U.S. during the 19th century.
News and analysis from ethnic popular and scholarly publications.
Covers alternative, radical, and left periodicals, newspapers, and magazines.
Full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press.
Newspapers and journals produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, BIPOC advocates, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
Search or browse hundreds of newspapers through the Library of Congress National Digital Newspaper Program. Includes descriptions of papers, and images are downloadable.
Digitized and searchable U.S. and Canadian newspapers. Not at all comprehensive, but potential for excellent and historic coverage depending on title.
Covers alternative, radical, and left periodicals, newspapers, and magazines.
Comprehensive collection of early American periodicals, with coverage of advertising, health, women's issues, science, the history of slavery, religious issues, culture and the arts, and more.
Digitized reproductions of more than 1,100 18th and 19th century newspapers and periodicals.
Covers analyses of current political, economic, and social issues to unique coverage of Latin American arts.
Searchable archive of leading women's interest magazines, dating from the 19th century through to the 21st.
