Use reputable reference tools (encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies) to confirm facts providing basic historical context in your papers. In addition to summarizing and contextualizing background information on a topic, they also have bibliographies of primary and secondary sources. Don't underestimate the helpfulness of these books!
Includes the most recent updates and additions to this essential reference work on the English language. Entries include meaning, usage, etymology, pronunciation, forms, and frequency, as well as compounds and derived words
-------------------
If you are having difficulty getting access, try clearing your cache or choosing “sign in through your institution”
Constantinople: Capital of Byzantium/J. Harris
Dictionary of Medieval Civilization/J. Dahmus
Dictionary of the Middle Ages/J.R. Strayer, ed. in chief
Encyclopedia of Barbarian Europe/M. Frassetto
Encyclopedia of the Crusades/A.J. Andrea
Encyclopedia of the Renaissance/P.F. Grendler, ed.
History of the Crusades/S. Runciman
A History of the Crusades/K. Setton, ed.
Historical Dictionary of the Crusades/C.K. Slack
Life in the Middle Ages: From the seventh to the thirteenth century/H. Goetz
The Making of the Middle Ages/ R.W. Southern
The Medieval Imagination/J. LeGoff
The New Cambridge Medieval History/R. McKitterick ed.
The Oxford History of Byzantium/C. Mango
Papacy and the Levant (1204-1571)/K. Setton
Trade, Travel and Exploration in the Middle Ages: An Encyclopedia/J.B. Friedman ed.
Society and Individual in Renaissance Florence/W. Connell
