African-American/African Literature and Literary Criticism

Indexes to Literary Criticism (Print and Electronic)

• MLA Bibliography
  ndexes scholarship on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Includes journal articles, monographs, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, and other formats.

Biography and Bio-Bibliography

• African-American Authors, 1745-1945: Bio-Bibliographical Critical Sourcebook (Ref. PS 153.N5 A32 2000)
• African American Poets: Lives, Works, and Sources (Ref. PS 153.N5 P48 2002)


•  
• African American Writers (Ref. PS 153.N5 A344 2001)
• Black Writers: a Selection of Sketches from Contemporary Authors (Ref. PS 153.N5 B56 1989)
• Concise Oxford Companion to African American Literature (Ref. PS 153.N5 C59 2001)


•  
• Contemporary African American Novelists: a Bio-Bibliographical Critical Sourcebook (Ref. PS 374.N4 C658 1999)


•  
• Contemporary Authors (Ref. PN 451.C66 and Ref. PN 451.C67)


•  
• The Harlem Renaissance and Beyond: 100 Black women writers, 1900-1950 (Ref. PS 153.N5 R65 1989)
• Langston Hughes Encyclopedia (Main PS 3515.U274 Z459 2002)
• Masterpieces of African-American Literature (Ref. PS 153 N5 M264 1992)
• Oxford Companion to African American Literature (Ref. PS 153.N5 O96 1997)


•  
• Toni Morrison Encyclopedia (Main PS 3563.O8749 Z913 2003)


•  
• Zora Neale Hurston Companion (Main PS 3515.U789 Z464 2002)

Electronic Texts

• African-American Literature: Writers, Projects, Works (Voice of the Shuttle)
• African-American Poetry (LION)
• African American Texts from the Electronic Text Center (Univ. of Virginia)
• African American Women Writers of the 19th Century
• Black Drama
  Contains full-text of plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 100 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. It also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.


•  
• Black Thought and Culture: African Americans to 1975
  Non-fiction published works of leading African Americans: monographs, essays, speeches, interviews, journal articles, letters, biographical essays by leading scholars and an extensive annotated bibliography of the sources in the database.


•  
• Twentieth-century African-American Poetry (LION)
• Zorah Neale Hurston Plays at the Library of Congress

Library of Congress Subject Headings

• African American authors [dramatists, novelists, poets]
• African American women authors
• African American women poets
• African fiction (English)--Black authors
• African literature (English)--Black authors
• African literature--Black authors
• African poetry (French)--Black authors
• American drama [fiction, literature, poetry, prose literature]--African American authors
• Drama--Black authors
• English drama--Black authors
• Literature--Black authors
• Authors, Black
• Blacks in literature
• Caribbean fiction (English)--Black authors
• Women authors, Black
• Subdivisions: Autobiography, bibliography, bio-bibliography, biography, dictionaries, directories, history and criticism, indexes, periodicals.

Note: Use the Worldcat Discovery Platform Advanced Search to explore available books using subject headings (LCSH). Books in Vassar's collections will be at the top of results lists, and most books that are not in our collections are available via interlibrary loan (ILLiad).