This dictionary brings together 140,000 headwords taken from the literature, papyri, inscriptions and other sources of the archaic period up to the 6th Century CE, and occasionally beyond.
A Greek-English lexicon, compiled by Henry George Liddell and Robert Scott. Revised and augmented throughout. Oxford: Clarendon, 1996.
Referred to as "Liddell and Scott", this is the standard Greek-to-English dictionary, 9th ed. (1940) with revised supplement (1996), for the Greek language to AD 600. Includes usage examples. Omits placenames. Location :Reference PA445.E5 L6 1968 Online: at TLG
A Latin dictionary founded on Andrews' edition of Freund's dictionary. Rev., enl., and in great part rewritten by Charlton T. Lewis and Charles Short. Oxford, Clarendon press, 1980.
Otherwise known as "Lewis and Short." Location:Reference PA2365.E5 A7 1980
Thesaurus Linguae Latinae. Leipzig: B.G. Teubneri, 1900- .
Comprehensive Latin dictionary covering the language from 3rd century BCE to 600 CE.including both literary texts and documentary materials. Location:Reference Folio PA2361 .T4
Civilization of the ancient Mediterranean : Greece and Rome
Call Number: DE59 .C55 1988
Broad survey articles arranged topically. Substantive bibliographies are included.
Classical Studies: a guide to the reference literature
Call Number: PA91 .J46 2006
Useful one-volume introduction to the field of Classical Studies, with a chapter on core journals and internet resources.
Past Worlds: The Times Atlas of Archaeology
Call Number: Ref. Folio G1046 .E15 P3 1988
Princeton Encyclopedia of Classical Sites by Stillwell, Richard, ed.
Call Number: Reference DE59 P7
"A one-volume source of information on sites that show remains from the Classical period", i.e., 750 BC to 6th century CE. Includes bibliographic citations.
Now available online through JSTOR.
The Oxford Classical Dictionary
Call Number: Ref. DE5 .O9 2012
Scholarly mini-encyclopedia of people, events, places in the classical world. Signed articles. Some bibliography. References to classical sources. 4th ed.
