Libraries

Today's hours:

See all library hours »

Ask a Librarian
FAQ

Greek & Roman Studies Research Guide

This guide has tips for doing research in Greek and Roman Studies.

Library Liaison

Deb Bucher

Email Me

Contact:

Rm 145
Main Library

845-437-5763

Subjects: Greek & Roman Studies

Finding Articles

Search databases and indexes using keywords or subjects. An advanced search will usually allow you to fit the search more precisely to your needs, combining topics, limiting by language, and/or publishing dates. Look for help screens to show searching tips. When you find an article you want, check under the title of the journal (not the article!) on the Library home page (link) Journals A-Z to see if Vassar owns the journal electronically or in print. Note if Vassar owns the year you want. If print, get the call number and note location: Main, Periodical Room, or Annex.

L'Annee Philologique
The primary database for locating scholarly work in Greek & Roman Studies.

Gnomon Bibliographische Datenbank
The Gnomon Online database provides access to the complete journal "Gnomon" (since 1928) and the quarterly bibliographic appendix to "Gnomon" from 1990 onwards. The collection is augmented by the inclusion of the holdings of the Library of Eichstätt University in Classics, and, in addition, holdings of the Bayerische Staatsbibliothek in Munich with its unique collection of books published in Classical Studies.
BHA: Bibliography of the History of Art.
Covers European and American art from late antiquity to the present. Indexes and abstracts articles, books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and art exhibition and dealer's catalogs.
ATLA Religion
Religion and theology scholarship in journals and multi-author works.
JSTOR
Backfiles of selected electronic journals in economics, finance, language, literature, mathematics, population/demography, philosophy, political science, history, sociology, ecology, higher education, and Asian studies.
Philosopher's Index
Indexes and abstracts articles and books in the field of Philosophy. It covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, metaphysics, logic, and philosophy of mind as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, language and education.

TOCS-IN
Provides the tables of contents of a selection of Classics, Near Eastern Studies, and Religion journals, both in text format and through a Web search program.