It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
We are excited to share our new Library catalog and search tool! We hope that you will find it easy to search and explore our collections. If you need help, have questions, or want to share feedback, visit the Ask a Librarian page.
To find articles, try the databases listed below. When you find an article you like, look for links that will send you to the full-text of the article. If you have difficulty finding the full-text, check Vassar Journals A-Z or the Catalog to see if the Library owns the journal and has the year/volume you need.
1. Discipline-specific Database for Finding Scholarly Articles
Database of over 3.2 million references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, and theses. The GeoRef database covers the geology of North America from 1669 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. The database includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey.
2. Multidisciplinary Databases for Finding Scholarly Articles
Database of articles from over 10,000 scholarly journals spanning the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Indexing goes back to 1984. This database provides cited reference searching capability.
Database of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals spanning the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Indexing for many journals begins in 1996 but there is historical coverage for journals published by Elsevier, Springer, and some chemistry and physics society publishers. This database provides cited reference searching capability.
3. Multidisciplinary Databases for Finding Popular and Scholarly Articles
Database of articles from over 4,500 journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers. Subject coverage spans the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. The diverse mix of publication types and broad subject scope makes this database a useful starting point.
Database of articles from over 14,000 journals, popular magazines, and newspapers. Subject coverage spans the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Like ProQuest, the diverse mix of publication types and broad subject scope makes this database another useful starting point.
Database of articles relevant to agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
Database of articles from journals, government publications, and general interest titles relevant to human impact on the environment including global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
OAIster has millions of records harvested from institutional repositories of nearly a thousand institutions including MIT, CalTech, Stanford etc. Use it to find articles, theses, technical reports and other gray literature. Most but not all links go to fulltext or to a research website.
If Vassar Library does not have the journal article you need, you may request it through ILLiad, the Library's Interlibrary loan service. You'll need to register first if you have never used this service before.