Libraries

Today's hours:

Ask a Librarian
FAQ

Mathematics

This guide will help you navigate information sources in mathematics.

Journal Article Databases

To find articles, try the databases listed below. When you find an article you like, look for links that will send you to the full-text of the article. If you have difficulty finding the full-text, check Vassar Journals A-Z or the Catalog to see if the Library owns the journal and has the year/volume you need.

1. Discipline-specific Databases for Finding Scholarly Articles

MathSciNet
Database of articles from over 2,000 journals covering the mathematical sciences. Indexing for some books, proceedings, and dissertations is also included. Includes reviews of mathematical research contained in the Mathematical Reviews Database. Indexing for some titles begins in the early 1800s.
Zentralblatt Math
Database of journal articles, books, conference papers, etc. covering pure and applied mathematics. Spans 1826 to present.

2. Multidisciplinary Databases for Finding Scholarly Articles

Web of Science
Database of articles from over 10,000 scholarly journals spanning the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Indexing goes back to 1984. This database provides cited reference searching capability.
Scopus
Database of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals spanning the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Indexing for many journals begins in 1996 but there is historical coverage for journals published by Elsevier, Springer, and some chemistry and physics society publishers. This database provides cited reference searching capability.

3. Multidisciplinary Databases for Finding Both Popular and Scholarly Articles

ProQuest
Database of articles from over 4,500 journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers. Subject coverage spans the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. The diverse mix of publication types and broad subject scope makes this database a useful starting point.
Academic OneFile
Database of articles from over 14,000 journals, popular magazines, and newspapers. Subject coverage spans the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Like ProQuest, the diverse mix of publication types and broad subject scope makes this database another useful starting point.

4. Digitized Collections of Math Resources (Including Scholarly Articles)

ELibM – Electronic Library of Mathematics
The Electronic Library of Mathematics contains online journals, article collections, monographs, and other electronic resources in the field of mathematics. All material is in electronic form and access is generally free, except for some journals with a delay period after which resources become freely available.
Project Euclid
Provides access to journal articles in theoretical and applied mathematics and statistics published by independent and society publishers.
NUMDAM
The NUMDAM web site (Numérisation de documents anciens mathématiques) provides access to mostly French mathematical journals.

5. Other Databases to Try

Astrophysics Data System (ADS)
Database of journal articles split into three separate categories: astronomy and astrophysics, physics and geophysics, and arXiv e-prints. Select one or more categories on the main search page and then click on the "Return Query Form" button. Astronomical object names/positions can also be searched.
Select one or more categories on the main search page and then click on the "Return Query Form" button.

OAlster
OAIster has millions of records harvested from institutional repositories of nearly a thousand institutions including MIT, CalTech, Stanford etc. Use it to find articles, theses, technical reports and other gray literature. Most but not all links go to fulltext or to a research website.
ACM Digital Library
Database of journal articles covering the field of computing including all articles published in Association of Computing Machinery (ACM) journals, as well as ACM conference proceedings, magazines, newsletters, and multimedia.

Google Scholar
Web-generated database of articles spanning all disciplines and harvested by Google from the websites of academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, etc.

Microsoft Academic Search
Free academic search engine developed by Microsoft Research that provides innovative ways to explore scientific publications, authors, conferences, journals, organizations and keywords.

Journals at Vassar

Vassar Journals A-Z
Check to see which journals are owned by Vassar Library, their format (print or electronic), and their coverage dates.
ILLiad
If Vassar Library does not have the journal article you need, you may request it through ILLiad, the Library's Interlibrary loan service. You'll need to register first if you have never used this service before.