Libraries

Today's hours:

Ask a Librarian
FAQ

Psychology

This guide will help you navigate information resources in psychology.

Catalogs

To find books, try the catalogs listed below. If you don't find the book you need in the Vassar Library Catalog or using ConnectNY, use ILLiad, Vassar Library's interlibrary loan service. Click here for more information about interlibrary loan services.

Vassar Library Search
Access the vast resources available at the Vassar College Libraries. Use Library Search to locate books, special collections, media, government documents, and electronic resources, including journals, journal articles, ebooks, databases, and more.
ConnectNY
Search the combined catalogs of 14 academic libraries in New York (including Vassar). You can request books not owned by Vassar or books that are checked out at Vassar; books arrive in 2-4 days.
WorldCat
WorldCat is the world's largest network of library content and provides a search interface for the combined collections of college, university, public, and special libraries across the United States as well as some international holdings.

E-Book Collections

Springer eBooks
The Library provides access to thousands of e-books published by Springer spanning the fields of astronomy, chemistry, computer science, life science, earth science, math, and physics. Coverage extends from 2005 to present; accessible titles are indicated by a green square. These books can also be found by searching the Vassar Library Catalog.
Google Books -- Psychology
A service from Google that searches the full text of books that Google has scanned and stored in its digital database. Depending on copyright restrictions, you may only be able to preview a small portion of the book.

Psychology Books Recently Added to the Vassar Library Collection

Search Tips for Using the Vassar Library Catalog

When you find a book of interest, note the location, write down the call number, and check the status. Also look at the subject headings assigned to the book; you might find it useful to click on these headings to find similar books on your topic.

Click here for help understanding book locations and call numbers.

Call Numbers in Psychology, Social Psychology, and Neurosciences

Books in Vassar Library are assigned a call number according to the Library of Congress classification system. The call number consists of a combination of letters and numbers, and is designed so that books on similar topics will be near each other on the shelf and easy to browse.

If you want to browse the collection, call number ranges are as follows:

BF1 to BF990 -- Psychology

HM1001 to HM1281 -- Social Psychology

RC321 to RC571 -- Neuroscience, Biological Psychiatry, and Neuropsychiatry

Last Updated: Sep 16, 2024 2:31 PM
URL: https://library.vassar.edu/psychology
Print Page

Subjects: Psychology

Tags: cognitive science, neuroscience, psychology, science, social psychology