Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Today's hours:

See all library hours »

  • Ask a Librarian
  • FAQ
.
We are excited to share our new Library catalog and search tool! We hope that you will find it easy to search and explore our collections. If you need help, have questions, or want to share feedback, visit the Ask a Librarian page.

HIST/WFQS 260: Sex and Reproduction in Nineteenth Century America: Before Margaret Sanger

This guide is a companion to Ms. Edwards' group assignment, Sex at Early Vassar

Topic

Vassar Policies and Curriculum Relating to Health, Hygiene, & Sexuality

The evolution of Vassar’s social regulations and its health and hygiene policies and curriculum, as shown by official policies, curricular offerings, and perhaps campus architecture.

Keywords

Health

Hygiene

Physician

Infirmary

Metcalf

Avery

Thelberg

VC Digital Library

via Hathi Trust

Vassar College catalogue (also available in print)

May 1865 - 1870/1871 +  ♦  1871/1872 - 1880/1881  ♦  1881/1882 - 1889/1890  ♦  1890/1891 - 1898/1899  ♦  1899/1900 - 1907/1908  ♦  1908/1909 - 1912/1913  ♦  1913/1914 - 1917/1918  ♦  1918/1919 - 1920/1921  ♦  1919/1920 - 1922/1923

Annual reports of officers (also available in print)

1901 ♦ 1902 ♦ 1903 ♦ 1904 ♦ 1905 ♦ 1906 ♦ 1907 ♦ 1908 ♦ 1909 ♦ 1910 ♦ 1911 ♦ 1912 ♦ 1913 ♦ 1914 ♦ 1915-1916 ♦ 1916 ♦  1917 ♦ 1918 ♦ 1919 ♦ 1920 ♦ 1921 ♦ 1922 ♦ 1923 ♦ 1924 ♦ 1925 ♦ 1926 ♦ 1927 ♦ 1929 ♦ 1930

Communication to the Board of Trustees, 1861 February (essentially Vassar College's first mission statement)

"The Vassar Course of Study" by John Howard Raymond, Godey's Lady's Book, Volume 81 (July 1870), 40-48  (also available in print in Archives and Special Collections.)

Vassar College, A College for Women, in Poughkeepsie, N.Y. by John H. Raymond, 1873 (also available in print in Archives and Special Collections)

Laws and Regulations of Vassar College, 1880

Sampling of other books and articles about Vassar College

1897 AAUW bibliography of books and articles on women's education

Main Library

Archives & Special Collections