p { line-height:1.38;margin-top:0pt;margin-bottom:0pt; } Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Today's hours:

See all library hours »

  • Ask a Librarian
  • FAQ

HOW TO FIND SONGS AND OTHER VOCAL MUSIC RESOURCES

IPA TRANSLATIONS

International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) :

The Omniglot website has information about International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) and includes charts and links to additional sites, including Flash animation and apps.

IPA Charts from Eric Armstrong's Voice and Speech Source has Flash animation of the sounds and names of the IPA symbols.

Songs with IPA translations may be found in the Mus lib REF and circulating collections under: ML 54. Browse the shelf, or do a KEYWORD search for IPA in the Online catalog

 

IPA source: https://www.ipasource.com/  IPA Source Contains almost 12,000 IPA transcriptions and many word-for-word translations of art song and operatic aria texts.

 

 

 

 

OTHER SOURCES FOR TEXTS AND TRANSLATIONS

Databases: 

  • The LiederNet ArchiveAccording to the website "The LiederNet Archive is the world's largest reference archive of texts and translations of art songs and choral works." Search by composer, first line, title, or poet.
  • The Aria Database provides texts and translations for more than 1,200 operatic arias as well as a substantial collection of MIDI files of arias and ensemble numbers. Search by title, opera, composer, or character name.
  • An excellent website for Russian art song (including translations and IPA for fee plus free access to audio files of historic recordings from Russia) is here. FEE BASED!
  • Liner notes accompanying streaming sound and visual recordings may contain texts and translations. See the music subject resources list for access to databases like Naxos Music Library, the Database of Recorded American Music and Met Opera on Demand.

Books and e-books:

Includes IPA transcriptions by Cheri Montgomery for more than 750 frequently studied art songs.

Scores:

  • Many of the more recent collections of art songs and arias, especially those edited by John Glenn Paton and Richard Walters, contain good translations and IPA.

Sound and visual recordings:

  • Liner notes accompanying sound and visual recordings in the Music Library collection may contain texts and translations.

If you're having trouble locating a translation for your song, ask us for help!