Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Today's hours:

See all library hours »

  • Ask a Librarian
  • FAQ

MAT: Movement for Affordable Textbooks.

Collected textbook-related resources for faculty, students and administrators.

What is MAT?

MAT, or Movement for Affordable Textbooks,  is made up of concerned faculty, students and administrators who join together to seek out answers to the high cost of textbooks and other course materials for Vassar students.  MAT is an initiative that came out of the Engaged Pluralism Initiative (EPI) Working Group, Inclusive Pedagogy, chaired by Professor Jonathon Kahn.  In order to devote more focus on this important topic, in January  2021 MAT became one of the first Project Groups of EPI. 

Currently co-chaired by Sarah Canino and Christopher Raymond, MAT meets regularly to plan initiatives.  Among it’s recent accomplishments MAT members connected with faculty to explore challenges and offer suggestions regarding textbooks.  We also recently created and administered a student survey to study the issue on the Vassar campus.

MAT is looking for new members! If you are interested in working with other members of the Vassar community to find solutions to the high cost of course materials at Vassar, contact one of the committee members below to express your interest:

Members for the spring 2021 semester include:

Zachary Britton, Administrative Assistant, Vassar College Store,  zbritton@vassar.edu

Jessica Camacho, ‘24 jcamacho@vassar.edu

Sarah Canino, Music Librarian, sacanino@vassar.edu

Lioba Gerhardi, Self Instructional Language Program (SILP) Coordinator, ligerhardi@vassar.edu

Andrew Harvin, ‘22 aharvin@vassar.edu

Susannah Karron, ‘21 skarron@vassar.edu

Felicity Martin, EPI Program Associate, fmartin@vassar.edu

Sarah Pearlman, Associate Professor and Chair of Economics, sapearlman@vassar.edu

Jacqueline Perez, Director of Student Financial Services,  jacquelineperez@vassar.edu

Christopher Raymond, Associate Professor of Philosophy, chraymond@vassar.edu

Jose Rodriguez, ‘24 jrodriguez@vassar.edu

Catherine Tan, Assistant Professor of Sociology, ctan@vassar.edu

Pambanisha Whaley, Head of User Services, Vassar College Library,  pwhaley@vassar.edu