Libraries

Today's hours:

Ask a Librarian
FAQ

Anthropology

Recommended resources for getting started with Anthropology research

USING DATABASES

The databases on this page are suggested starting points for locating scholarly peer-reviewed articles, along with other types of informational resources. For more database options:

ATHROPOLOGY DATABASES

Anthropology Plus

Index to scholarship in anthropology, archaeology and related interdisciplinary research. Date range: approximately 1800-present

This product combines the Royal Anthropological Institute’s Anthropological Index and Harvard University's Anthropological Literature databases
AnthroSource
American Anthropological Association publications
D-PLACE: Database of Places, Language, Culture and Environment
Presents cultural, linguistic, environmental and geographic information on over 1,400 human societies, facilitating comparison of cultural practices and exploration of factors that may underlie cultural similarities and differences.
Abstracts in Anthropology
Abstracts of anthropological scholarship organized by subfield: cultural anthropology, physical anthropology, archaeology, and linguistics.

MULTIDISCIPLINARY DATABASES

JSTOR
Provides full text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, architecture and art history and other fields. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title, but usually ends several years before the current year.
Scopus

Index of articles from scholarly journals spanning the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Provides cited reference searching capability.
Web of Science

Index of articles from scholarly journals spanning the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Provides cited reference searching capability.

The Web of Science “Core Collection” includes the following:
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (AHCI)
Book Citation Index - Science (BCKI-S)
Book Citation Index - Social Sciences & Humanities (BCKI-SSH)
Current Chemical Reactions (CCR-EXPANDED)
Emerging Sources Citation Index (ESCI)
Index Chemicus (IC)
Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI)

ASSOCIATED SUBJECT SPECIFIC DATABASES

Sociological Abstracts
Index to literature in sociology and related disciplines (anthropology, economics, education, medicine, political sciences, and more) Abstracts of journal articles, conference papers, dissertations, books, and book reviews.
SSRN
Research platform used to share early-stage research and pre-prints in the applied sciences, health sciences, humanities, life sciences, physical sciences, and social sciences
Ethnic NewsWatch
Newspapers, magazines and journals from ethnic, minority and native presses.
Includes the module Ethnic NewsWatch: A History™, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989. Full coverage: 1959 - present.

For historical content, date filter for years "1959-1989".
Historical Abstracts

Index of scholarly articles on world history, excluding the United States and Canada. Date range of the articles:1955-present. Date range of the subject matter: 1450-present
ProQuest Social Science Collection
Combined search of 15 ProQuest products: Alt-PressWatch, APA PsycArticles, APA PsycInfo, Black Study Center, Coronavirus Research Database, Econlit, ERIC, Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, Healthcare Administration Database, LGBT Magazine Archive, PAIS, PTSDpubs, Sociological Abstracts, and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts

NEWSPAPERS & NEWSPAPER DATABASES

Below is a selection of newspaper sources. For more newspapers,

Free New York Times Subscription for Vassar Students, Faculty & Staff
Direct access to NYTimes.com; requires a quick account setup (click link for instructions) to access articles behind paywall.

Access World News

Local, regional, national, and international primary source information on issues and events from newspapers, newswires, transcripts, video clips, the web, and blogs. Date range: 1972 - present (updated daily)
Ethnic NewsWatch
Newspapers, magazines and journals from ethnic, minority and native presses.
Includes the module Ethnic NewsWatch: A History™, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989. Full coverage: 1959 - present.

For historical content, date filter for years "1959-1989".
Nexis Uni
Legal info and national and international newspapers. Date range: approximately 1790-present
PressReader
Current newspapers and magazines from more than 150 countries in 65 languages. Categories include news, business and current affairs but also entertainment, music, fashion, technology, architecture and design, popular science, popular history, food, sports, travel, crafts, and more. Mobile app available

Languages represented: Afrikaans, Albanian, Arabic, Armenian, Belarusian, Bengali, Bosnian, Bulgarian, Catalan, Cebuano, Chinese (Simplified), Chinese (Traditional), Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Finnish, French, German, Greek, Gujarati, Hausa, Hebrew, Hindi, Hungarian, Ilocano, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Kannada, Kazakh, Korean, Kven, Lithuanian, Malay, Marathi, Northern Sami, Norwegian, Odia, Persian, Polish, Portuguese, Punjabi, Romanian, Russian, Serbian, Sinhala, Slovak, Slovenian, Spanish, Swedish, Tagalog, Tamil, Thai, Turkish, Ukrainian, Urdu, Uzbek, Valencian, Vietnamese, Welsh, Xhosa, and Zulu

Last Updated: Oct 27, 2025 6:28 PM
URL: https://library.vassar.edu/anth
Print Page

Subjects: Anthropology

Tags: Anthro