Libraries

Today's hours:

Ask a Librarian
FAQ

ANTH 170: Caribbean Voices

First Year Writing Seminar

USING DATABASES

The databases on this page are suggested starting points for locating scholarly peer-reviewed articles, along with other types of informational resources. For more database options:

Anthropology Database List
Latin American and Latino/a Studies Database List
Caribbean Related Databases (largely archival and historical focus)
Library A-Z Database List

Anth 170: Databases for Starting Your Research

Anthropology Plus
Index to scholarship in anthropology, archaeology and related interdisciplinary research. Date range: approximately 1800-present
This product combines the Royal Anthropological Institute’s Anthropological Index and Harvard University's Anthropological Literature databases
AnthroSource
American Anthropological Association publications
Ethnic NewsWatch
Newspapers, magazines and journals from ethnic, minority and native presses.
Includes the module Ethnic NewsWatch: A History™, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989. Full coverage: 1959 - present.
For historical content, date filter for years "1959-1989".
JSTOR
Provides full text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, architecture and art history and other fields. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title, but usually ends several years before the current year.
ProQuest Research Library
Multidisciplinary index to articles in scholarly and popular periodicals. Coverage 1850 - present

ADDITIONAL MULTIDISCIPLINARY DATABASES

Academic OneFile
Multidisciplinary index to articles in scholarly and popular periodicals; also includes articles from newspapers and reference books. Date range: 1905 - present
Google Scholar
Links to peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations
Project MUSE
Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.
Web of Science
Index of articles from scholarly journals spanning the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Provides cited reference searching capability.
Includes Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI-EXPANDED); Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (AHCI); Book Citation Index - Science (BCKI-S); Book Citation Index - Social Sciences & Humanities (BCKI-SSH); Emerging Sources Citation Index (ESCI); Current Chemical Reactions (CCR-EXPANDED); and Index Chemicus (IC)

ADDITIONAL DISCIPLINE OR FORMAT SPECIFIC DATABASES

Art and Architecture Source
Indexing and abstracts for peer-reviewed journals, books, dissertations, podcasts and more. Covers fine art, decorative art, commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture. Date range: 1865-present
Black Studies Periodicals
Black Studies Periodicals (formerly International Index to Black Periodicals - IIBP) includes current and retrospective bibliographic citations and abstracts from scholarly journals and newsletters from the United States, Africa and the Caribbean. Marshall Index is guide to black periodicals 1940-1946 (via Black Studies Center).
Caribbean Literature
Poetry and fiction produced in the region during the 19th and 20th centuries.
Clase/Periodica
Index to articles, essays, book reviews and technical reports. CLASE indexes documents published in Latin American journals specializing in the social sciences and humanities. PERIóDICA covers journals specializing in science and technology.
Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS)
Bibliography on Latin America
Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI)
Index to articles on Latin America and Hispanic Americans in the US
Historical Abstracts
Index of scholarly articles on world history, excluding the United States and Canada. Date range of the articles:1955-present. Date range of the subject matter: 1450-present

Latin American and Caribbean Social Science Virtual Library - CLACSO
Full-text resources in the social sciences in Latin America and the Caribbean and published by CLACSO (Latin American Council of Social Sciences). Also links to full-text documents available in other digital libraries and portals.

Music Periodicals Database: INDEX
Covers nearly all aspects of the world of music from the most scholarly studies to the latest areas of popular interest. Coverage: 1874-current.
Sociological Abstracts
Covers international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Politics, international relations, government, public policy.