Libraries

Today's hours:

Ask a Librarian
FAQ

ANTH 224: Race & Human Variation

Resources to Support Your ANTH 224 Unessay Project & More

USING DATABASES

The databases on this page are suggested starting points for locating scholarly peer-reviewed articles, along with other types of informational resources. For more database options:

SUBJECT SPECIFIC DATABASES

Anthropology Plus
Index to scholarship in anthropology, archaeology and related interdisciplinary research. Date range: approximately 1800-present
This product combines the Royal Anthropological Institute’s Anthropological Index and Harvard University's Anthropological Literature databases
AnthroSource
American Anthropological Association publications
Ethnic NewsWatch
Newspapers, magazines and journals from ethnic, minority and native presses.
Includes the module Ethnic NewsWatch: A History™, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989. Full coverage: 1959 - present.
For historical content, date filter for years "1959-1989".

OMIM: Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man
OMIM is a comprehensive, catalog of human genes and genetic phenotypes that is updated daily, from the Institute of Genetic Medicine, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine. You wouldn't necessarily use OMIM as a reference, but to find and explore the articles and resources cited.

PubMed
Index of scholarly articles relevant to biomedicine and clinical medicine.
Sociological Abstracts
Covers international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
ProQuest Social Science Collection
Combined search of 15 ProQuest products: Alt-PressWatch, APA PsycArticles, APA PsycInfo, Black Study Center, Coronavirus Research Database, Econlit, ERIC, Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, Healthcare Administration Database, LGBT Magazine Archive, PAIS, PTSDpubs, Sociological Abstracts, and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts

MULTIDISCIPLINARY DATABASES

Web of Science
Index of articles from scholarly journals spanning the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Provides cited reference searching capability.
The Web of Science “Core Collection” includes the following:
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (AHCI)
Book Citation Index - Science (BCKI-S)
Book Citation Index - Social Sciences & Humanities (BCKI-SSH)
Current Chemical Reactions (CCR-EXPANDED)
Emerging Sources Citation Index (ESCI)
Index Chemicus (IC)
Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI)
JSTOR
Provides full text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, architecture and art history and other fields. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title, but usually ends several years before the current year.
Scopus
Index of articles from scholarly journals spanning the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Provides cited reference searching capability.
1. For Safari users: limits currently do not work. Please use Firefox. 2. For Mac users: When using Firefox, you may be confronted with a request to login. To eliminate this problem, please clear the cache in Firefox and restart the browser.
Google Scholar
Links to peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations